1. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    Before this starts to rot on my hard drive, I'm going to release it.

    Someone might have a use for this:
    https://github.com/RSDuck/desmume-nx

    Feel free to ask me any questions, but I'm probably not going to develope it further. If you're looking for a Nintendo DS emulator, you're probably better off using melonDS.
     
  2. angelhp

    angelhp GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    476
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for this port
    Can you compilate the code ?
    I want test it in my switch
    Thanks...
     
    Last edited by angelhp, Dec 28, 2018
  3. cyndor

    cyndor GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    United States
     

    Attached Files:

    angelhp likes this.
  4. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Country:
    United States
    does this work for anyone?
     
  5. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Country:
    Mexico
    It runs but really slow, I don't think the build above has JIT enabled or even OC.
     
  6. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Country:
    United States
    it just crashes the switch for me
     
  7. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,015
    Country:
    Mexico
    Ye, you need ypur roms on "/switch/desmume/roms/", or it will crash.
     
  8. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    It does have the JIT enabled and it overclocks the CPU to 1.2 GHz, though it currently spits tons of debug output and the JIT isn't very efficient. Also 3D games should only run marginally faster, because the main bottleneck for them is still the rasteriser and not the CPU
     
  9. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    So, I actually continued this. I optimised the JIT a bit and also ported the OpenGL renderer and it's still bad

    EDIT: when I mean bad, I mean about 30 FPS with Mario Kart, full overclock and OGL renderer
     
    Last edited by catlover007, Jan 5, 2019
  10. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Country:
    United States
    can set it so we can pick the oc speed?
     
  11. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    no, this isn't meant as an end user ready product. I think haven't made it clear, the developement has now come to a point where there's not much possible anymore to improve the slow emulation speed.

    If you want Nintendo DS emulation on your Switch, go with melonDS
     
  12. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Country:
    United States
    ok
     
  13. tabnk

    tabnk GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    United States
    3DS game maybe slow but 2D games should be fine.
     
  14. TheMrIron2

    TheMrIron2 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Ireland
    Not necessarily. As someone who worked on DSonPSP, I ran into an interesting issue where 3D games would in theory actually run better than 2D games because the 3D games can have more hardware GPU assistance than 2D games, in which the latter have everything done on the CPU because modern GPUs don't deal with sprites and the like anymore.
    Edit: Not saying the Switch is this badly bottlenecked, but 2D games do not necessarily run better - the CPU does more work with 2D games, and for 3D games the GPU can take all graphics workload without breaking a sweat.
     
    Last edited by TheMrIron2, Jan 5, 2019
  15. catlover007

    OP catlover007 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Germany
    The problem lies in the way DeSmuME handles the 3D, atleast in the newest version. It constantly transfers things from main memory to VRAM and back. And in the end it still does expensive operations like window testing are on the CPU.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - release]DeSmuME, really,