Not a valid Wii Iso

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rinajati, Mar 14, 2010.

Mar 14, 2010

Not a valid Wii Iso by rinajati at 6:58 PM (3,796 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. rinajati
    OP

    Newcomer rinajati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Chile
    Hello everyone:

    First of all, i would like to apologize if this is not the right section, or if this has been answered before (the search function didn't throw much results due to the character limit, and the terms i was searching), also, you'll excuse any grammar/spelling issues, since my english is a bit rusty.

    Now, onto the question itself:

    Lately i've had issues with some ISOs (Guitar Hero 5, NSMBW, Resident Evil DC, Tatsunoko vs. among others (edit: could add Kamen Rider and Spellbound to the list) where i follow the usual procedure before burning any files (pass the iso trough some program like Update Remover o Syn. Region Changer), and strangely, the software states that it's "not a valid Wii Iso" (even though, Region Change details the data of the game, and allows me to change it's region).

    Now, using a USB loader method, i have no problems playing such titles, but when i burn the file and try to load it trough the DVD drive, the console doesn't recognize it (the banner doesn't even show up on the disc channel).

    Can someone explain this to me? is there a solution? am i doing something wrong in the burn process? (using IMGburn at 4x).

    Cheers, and thanks in advance.
     
  2. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't patch your games.
     
  3. rinajati
    OP

    Newcomer rinajati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Chile

    What? Why? Does it affect somehow the iso? If that's what you are suggesting, i seem to recall burning a couple of those images before patching and it's the same problem.

    I don't mean to sound ungrateful, but you really are not throwing much light into this issue...i mean with 4 words it's kinda hard to get any info out of you.

    If you actually have any idea of what's going on, please elaborate/explain, i know i'm listening, and i'm sure a lot more people are too.

    Cheers and thanks in advance.
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry I won't write a huge explanation.

    Patching game = bad (99% of the time)

    I've no idea if this is causing your problem, but you don't need to patch games usually for anything (there are a few exceptions).

    Also you've not gave good info, your saying they don't work through the disc channel, well they wont unless either you have a mod chip, cioscorp or are running them using a cios.
     
  5. rinajati
    OP

    Newcomer rinajati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Chile

    First of all, thanks for taking the time to respond.

    Regarding your response.

    1) Why is patching an iso a bad thing?, with the exception of the games i mentioned, i haven't had any issue with the games.
    As far as i'm aware, the only change is the region and removes any updates, which i've been told have no effect on the game itself (no trucha or anything like it).

    2) I use the region patch for obvious reasons; that is, play a game from a different region than mine (play pal on my ntsc-u), i've had problems with pal games not working (black screen, but from what i understand, that has to do with the video signal not being compatible (or coded in the game); in fact, some pal games that throw a black screen on a regular old tv, work fine with a compatible NTSC/PAL tv i have).Update remover, also i use it for obvious reasons, and that is, prevent unwanted updates on my system wich are not needed, specially from PAL games, which can lead to a brick.

    From what i understand, both are needed, and not an exception in any way.

    3) Now regarding the lack of "good info" as you put it, i forgot to mention, alas, i think it's pretty obvious tho, that i do have a method of loading backups on my Wii, either way, i have a mod chip DC2key (i think that was the name) installed, and like i mentioned a method of loading backups trough a USB HDD.

    Like i said anyway, i don't think it's the patching that's screwing up the iso, since i also tried burning them without patching (NTSC of course), tho, without luck of them loading up on the disk cannel.

    Cheers
     
  6. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Don't worry, I use IOS patcher to patch my ISO's, and some newer games can't be patched with it.
    It seems if you don't patch it, you have problems.Example: Not Patching House of the dead 1,2,3 would not load 2,
    patching fixed it.
    Some other games needed patching, cant rem which ones.
    But, for the most part, I patch any that can patch, without much problems.
    And so far only older games need patching, and not many, at that.
     
  7. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a few ISO's through IOS patcher syaing not a valid ISO, still I burnt the ISO and it worked a few times, now I dont even use IOSpatcher anymore, if it says ISO is not valid just burn it, dvd's cost pence these days
     
  8. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Patching isn't detected now but in the future Nintendo may add checks, if that was the case do you keep 1:1 copies (I don't think you would)
    Your chip (most if not all chips) can handle different regions of games and iirc your chip can also block updates, if not you can use priiloader or similar to block updates from discs and also online updates.
    Usb loaders when ripping a disc can remove the updates, and usb loaders give a region free play.
    I'm just someone that sees no need in patching a disc.

    Now as for you burning them in IMGBurn @ 4X speed, that's fine no problem. Have you changed brands of DVD you use ? (if you have this maybe the problem)

    Maybe your chips firmware needs updated, or the games are trucha patched and you need the trucha bug on the system menu IOS.
     
  9. rinajati
    OP

    Newcomer rinajati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Chile
    Yeah, i've tried diferent brands, no luck...patched, unpatched.

    Can anyone explain this "not a valid wii iso" ordeal? All the isos that the pc software recognizes as "not valid" don't work from the disc channel (chipped wii, tho, they work with the USB loader).

    This just can't be a coincidence...and i'm amazed at how nobody else seems to have this problem, since Google doesn't throw info on the subject.

    I repeat, some of the isos i've had problems with are Guitar Hero 5, Resident Evil Darkside Chronicles, Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, i've re-downloaded such isos, from different sources, release groups, but alas, no luck.
     
  10. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's an anti-piracy gimmick by nintendo, find a pre-patched version of the game and it should come up as a valid iso.
     
  11. rinajati
    OP

    Newcomer rinajati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Chile

    Ok, that sounds reasonable enough.

    Now i'm more than aware that no download can be made available on this forum, so obviously i'm not going to ask any links for it; but instead of fishing for a "proper" release, how can identify a "valid" iso? Or even better...any way i could patch a "non valid iso" myself to make it work?.

    Cheers, thanks in advance.
     
  12. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There was a way, but I've forgotten and I remember having some trouble with it. I'll search it up and see if I can help.

    EDIT: Here's a link to a tutorial that shows you how to get it to work on uloader, should help you. http://adewii.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/how...ing-on-uloader/ This is for NSMBW, if you want your other games just google
    "(insert game name here) pre-patched".
     
  13. rinajati
    OP

    Newcomer rinajati Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Chile

    Bob, i apreciate your help, however, i didn't find any helpfull information on the page you linked, nor does your google "method" helps me in finding information regarding the games i have problems.

    I have no problems loading those "not valid isos" trough the USB Loader, but the same "not valid isos" when i burn them to a disc are not even recognized by the disc channel.

    Those game that on the PC software are recognized as "not valid" are the only ones i have problems, every single other game, has no problem whatsoever.
     

Share This Page