Hacking Noob here, question about loading games onto separate USB hard drive

treeman

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I've read so many "guides" on this site that I don't know what to do anymore.

Background: I successfully used the Wii U guide to put CBHC on my Wii U. Had an issue getting the WUP Installer to show up on my Wii U homescreen, but I think its fixed now (found a WUP Installer channel download that seems to work).

Did the USB Helper workaround from reddit, can see a bunch of backups of my old games.

Have a 2TB external hard drive ("HDD") ready to go for the Wii U.

1. How do I get these backups onto my HDD?

Is the preferred way still downloading from the USB Helper program on a PC, then put the downloaded game folder(s) onto my SD card (I think in the "install" folder?)? And then run the WUP Installer channel to install the game to the Wii U home screen, choosing "USB" as the save destination?

2. So I still have to do this (my SD card is 32gb) for each game that I want? (or multiple if the game files are small enough)? Is there not a way to dump a bunch of games onto my HDD and then plug it into my Wii U to load them?

3. Are there any other programs I need other than the ones mentioned here?

4. And as for my HDD, do I just plug it into the Wii U and let the Wii U format it, that's all?

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
I've read so many "guides" on this site that I don't know what to do anymore.

Background: I successfully used the Wii U guide to put CBHC on my Wii U. Had an issue getting the WUP Installer to show up on my Wii U homescreen, but I think its fixed now (found a WUP Installer channel download that seems to work).

Did the USB Helper workaround from reddit, can see a bunch of backups of my old games.

Have a 2TB external hard drive ("HDD") ready to go for the Wii U.

1. How do I get these backups onto my HDD?