Hacking "No Gateway 3DS card found!"

JillSandwich

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
97
Country
United States
I tried both my 3DS and 3DSXL, and both fail to boot into Gateway mode. However, running the diagnostics on both systems shows that it's accessing the card (and both systems can read retail carts fine).
System's SD cards are both formatted to FAT32, a fresh copy of Launcher.dat (twice tried with different mirrors). Hell, I tried both the paper and the tape trick.

It can't be defective, since diagnostics passes, right?
9089b4f806.jpg
9c5af56a1b.jpg
87072909c7.jpg

Addendum: Tried 3 microSD cards (both exFAT and FAT32), and they all work fine under diagnostics, while simply not having one causes the SD Card portion to fail.
 

zoe934

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
51
Country
United States
I get it from my friend, I will ask him to bring me another one next week, and check if its card's problem... so sad...
 

JillSandwich

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
97
Country
United States
Response from Modchipsdirect:
It's a shame you can't directly email Gateway and ask if it's a software issue.

Then again, if it is such, then I'm sure I could downgrade to 4.5 when the files release, and then use an older Gateway launcher.dat.
I guess the best thing to do is wait it out, hope that it truly is a software issue.

did you fix the problem? i have same problem~
Sadly no. I was hoping for the typical "it just works the next day" stuffs to happen.
I bought my card from modchipsdirect, too, and exact same problem as you. Maybe it is the cart?

Hoping it's software-related, but what are the odds of two carts being defective from the same reseller (ignoring the possibility of mistreatments)?
 

JillSandwich

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
97
Country
United States
Both GW 3.0.1 and GW 2.7 failed, as I figured.
Oh well. I got a system on 4.2 now, so I can occupy myself with CFW for the meanwhile.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,514
Country
United States
What did you use to format the SD cards. Use the Panasonic SD formatter v4 from the SD association for the best FAT32 format. Also try using a different card reader on the computer to transfer the files and perform the format. I have had a couple over the years that would act flaky and cause trouble.
 

Tomorrow's Joe

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
12
Trophies
1
XP
150
Country
United States
I was having this problem too, and I suspect it is a bug with the new beta. The times I did manage to load emuNAND, I got the error "MicroSD card not ready" after I tried to load the multi-ROM menu. I'm on 4.5 so I just switched back to the Omega 2.7 launcher.dat and "updated" my Gateway card again, and now everything works fine.
 

JillSandwich

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2015
Messages
21
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
97
Country
United States
Oh, right; I kept up with my problem solving on maxconsole and not here as well.
Turns out it was a hardware problem.
4edd53e242.png

Under the FPGA chip, there's the two exposed regions on the board; the leftmost region is missing the thingy that the rightmost region has (I cannot for the life of me recall the name of that piece). I'm assuming it's a bridge of some sorts from one contact to the other. If you're feeling brave, soldering it in place worked. I was able to update my FPGA and the unit hasn't exploded get.
 

kaputnik

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
215
Trophies
1
XP
910
Country
Sweden
Oh, right; I kept up with my problem solving on maxconsole and not here as well.
Turns out it was a hardware problem.
4edd53e242.png

Under the FPGA chip, there's the two exposed regions on the board; the leftmost region is missing the thingy that the rightmost region has (I cannot for the life of me recall the name of that piece). I'm assuming it's a bridge of some sorts from one contact to the other. If you're feeling brave, soldering it in place worked. I was able to update my FPGA and the unit hasn't exploded get.

The marking on the PCB partially covered by the red ring to the right of the solder pads looks like the bottom of an R, so it's probably a resistor.
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,022
Country
United States
Response from Modchipsdirect:

It's a shame you can't directly email Gateway and ask if it's a software issue.

Then again, if it is such, then I'm sure I could downgrade to 4.5 when the files release, and then use an older Gateway launcher.dat.
I guess the best thing to do is wait it out, hope that it truly is a software issue.


Sadly no. I was hoping for the typical "it just works the next day" stuffs to happen.


Hoping it's software-related, but what are the odds of two carts being defective from the same reseller (ignoring the possibility of mistreatments)?


NO team has ever offered direct email.
 
D

Deleted-355425

Guest
Oh, right; I kept up with my problem solving on maxconsole and not here as well.
Turns out it was a hardware problem.
4edd53e242.png

Under the FPGA chip, there's the two exposed regions on the board; the leftmost region is missing the thingy that the rightmost region has (I cannot for the life of me recall the name of that piece). I'm assuming it's a bridge of some sorts from one contact to the other. If you're feeling brave, soldering it in place worked. I was able to update my FPGA and the unit hasn't exploded get.
That is an smd resistor, if you can solder it's a 2 second fix.. If not then just send it back.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000R7V3JI?psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&ref_=chk_typ_quicklook_titleToDp...