No beeps no picture nothing

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by kjb1686, Mar 15, 2012.

Mar 15, 2012

No beeps no picture nothing by kjb1686 at 8:03 PM (408 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have recently built a computer and everything works fine it turns on and all but there is no picture and no beeps i have tried everything to no avail. I removed the ram to see if i could hear a beep and nothing so im assuming that my case has no speaker system for beeps. Please help.
     
  2. philip11

    Member philip11 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    411
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I believe it means the RAM is bad or not insterted correctly or you put a wire in the wrong place.
     
  3. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    everything is hooked up correctly and it is nothing why would there be no beeps i believe i put another mobo in the case and it beeped.
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there's no beeps when removing RAM then there's no speaker which is increasingly common. As for no picture, try plugging into the integrated graphics if there are any.

    And to confirm, the fans are spinning, right?
     
  5. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yes the fans are spinning the case ones along with the heatsink ones i don't know if it doa or not i plugged it into the graphics card and the intergrated one it is as bare as can be. Also i took it out the case to see if it was being shorted and put it on the box it came in and still nothing im thinking about doing a rma and getting another motherboard and not the asrock.
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm... Before you send it back, try a minimal setup. Motherboard, RAM and integrated graphics only. Disconnect all drives, one stick of RAM and anything else except for one USB keyboard. See if that works. If not, either the motherboard or CPU may be DoA.
     
  7. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Okay i already tried that how would i tell about the cpu
     
  8. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Qu├ębec
    Country:
    Canada
    by doing the same test with another mobo.

    Also, I've seen similar case where it was the psu that was defect, but most of the time in a situation like that it's the mobo.

    you can also make sure the cpu is properly seated, those intel socket can sometime make you feel like it's in while it's not really.
     
  9. kjb1686
    OP

    Member kjb1686 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Location:
    Olean New York
    Country:
    United States
    Well i tried to get it to boot without a cpu in and no beeps or anything so im assuming it is the motherboard the cpu is seated in right it took me a couple tries but following the manual i managed to do it. Also i wasn't going to get this motherboard but instead see if newegg wishes to send me another one i have to get into contact with them today and find out if they will. Also i was looking at this one as a replacement any good http://www.newegg.co...82E16813131716.

    Dont use that link for the MOBO use this instead http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131716 i dont know why that always happens.

    Once again edit i found the problem one of the ram slots is faulty on the mobo and that is it for now all i have is 2gb but that is enough to run some games i will have to get a 4gb stick alone and i should be fine
     

Share This Page