No access point was found - hacked wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by nodlehs, Mar 3, 2013.

Mar 3, 2013
  1. nodlehs
    OP

    Newcomer nodlehs Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello

    Apologies if this is posted in the wrong area. I recently bought a second-hand Wii which I believe is hacked (there is a Homebrew channel and USB Loader). I'm having an issue trying to find wireless access points with it. I'm not sure if the hack has caused this but I did read somewhere on this forum a hacked Wii with Priloader can force WiFi to be disabled (or something like this). I don't know if Priloader is installed on this Wii though.

    I don't mind having a hacked Wii but I'd like to be able to play online, lovefilm and whatnot. I don't have a wired connection and trying to search for wireless access points I keep getting "No access point was found." I don't think my router is the problem - my laptop, phone, ipad and old DS lite (when changing WPA2 to WEP) have no issues connecting or seeing my network.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Plainscript

    Member Plainscript GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've read about the Priiloader-problem too. (mostly really old versions)

    Another thing: the internal Wifi-card might be broken. Good news: it's available on eBay. Bad news: you know the deal.. Taking everything apart.

    I would advise you to really check for Priiloader-problems first. Just to be sure.. :)

    EDIT: To get into the Priiloader menu, try this:

     
  3. nodlehs
    OP

    Newcomer nodlehs Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. I'm not sure if I'm doing this correctly.. to get Priiloader to run, I'm holding down reset right after pressing the power button and I'm letting go as soon as the 'press a to continue' appears on the health and safety screen. I also tried powering off and holding both the power and reset buttons together. Priiloader doesn't seem to appear so I'm guessing it isn't installed.

    Is it possible that it was once installed and then removed? I don't want to have to take the Wii apart (not knowing exactly what to do!) and replace something that doesn't need replacing.
     
  4. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    If you are seeing the "Press A To Continue" screen even though you're holding reset, you do not have Priiloader installed.
     
  5. nodlehs
    OP

    Newcomer nodlehs Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll have to look for wifi cards then :unsure:
    Hopefully, I'll find a really good video how-to guide
     

Share This Page