news channel and meteo channel gone

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Magus, Dec 27, 2007.

Dec 27, 2007
  1. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    hi...
    basicaly the meteo channel just stopped getting new info (it's blocked the day before modding the wii) and the news channel give me an error "news000006"
    i know this is a old problem but i tried the solution of switching region and accepting the contract and it didn't work
    here is what i did
    - change region to united kingdom
    - access wii24 setting
    - accept the contract
    - wii return to menu
    - change region back
    - access wii24 setting
    - accept the contract
    - wii return to menu
    - turn off the wii
    - turn on the wii
    - go to everybody votes channel
    - set the region back
    - try to access new channel
    - still doesn't work
    i don't think i'm doing something wrong? someone else suggested into reformatting the wii but i don't want to format my wii as i don't have an SD card to backup my save and i don't want to bother with redownloading the firmware and the channel again
     
  2. ArAcHnId

    Newcomer ArAcHnId Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Belgium
    do you have the latest firmware on your wii? because they updated the news en meteo channel, like a while back (i think?)
     
  3. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    My best guess would be to format and then update again. Maybe you should go get a cheap SD card or borrow one from a friend to be safe.
     
  4. dsbomb

    Member dsbomb GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Country:
    United States
    If you're so insistent on not buying an SD card to back up your Miis and saves, then just buy a new Wii. It'll save you that horrible headache. [​IMG]

    Yes, only formatting will fix it, if you want the news/weather that badly. Formatting does not revert your firmware version though, you will still be at the same version you had before. You will only need to download things from the shopping channel (WiiWare and VC games).
     
  5. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    ah thanks for the help... i don't really care that much about the news/meteo channel to format all but i'll fix it sooner or later
     

Share This Page