Newly Built Gaming PC

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Intimidator88, Jul 14, 2012.

Jul 14, 2012

Newly Built Gaming PC by Intimidator88 at 11:10 PM (1,526 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Ok guys so i finally pulled the trigger on ordering all the parts for my gaming pc today i had some help and tips so now i wanna know if i made the right choices to run every game i play on MAX SETTINGS yeah not just run the game but run it on max so hopefully i picked right. First time builder btw so go easy on me! xD

    Burner - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827136247

    Case - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811208034

    Power Supply - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817152035

    Video Card - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814131467

    Motherboard - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131767

    Harddrive - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136783

    Memory - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820144594

    Processor - http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819103961
     


  2. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Looks good to me by just looking at the pages, I trust you did your research to make sure everything is compatible. Pretty sure it'll run everything, but is there a reason you went with the 8120?
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Well "max" is an issue, because some things Just Don't Work Like That. For example the difference between (traditional "scatter" multi-sample) anti-aliasing from 8x to 16x is rarely, if ever, noticeable, but is twice the strain on the GPU.

    If you're asking if that's a setup that will run all the latest games as well as they can reasonably be run (barring examples like GTAIV's PC port's incredible CPU use causing slowdown on most machines of the time) to the point where the graphics look about as good as they can get, then yes, that's a powerful machine for the money.
     
  4. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I went with the 8120 because it seemed like the price for the 8150 and amount of power difference was just not enough to justifie the extra 30 bucks and yea all of it is good together (buddy helped me with that issue lol)

    @ Rydian, Well is there anything that you would change to better my chances?
     
  5. xephos

    Newcomer xephos Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    I find intel CPU's to be more powerful, but AMD's are way cheaper same with Nvidia and AMD, with the note that I find nvidia cards are also more quiet. Which is good for me because I am a silence FREAK. custom watercooling; with an mCubed-T balancer to keep my fans off to 40% at idle and to ramp up when gaming, but not that much, all housed in my TJ07 :D

    Edit: but 2GB of GDDR5 Vram will help a lot if you want to "max" games out, even if you cant notice the difference in some games :P
     
  6. qlum

    Member qlum Posting when needed

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    The Pirate Homeworld
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A few remarks:
    1: I am not going to argue against bulldozer and am going to assume your decision is made with the knowledge available on the internet
    2: the psu is quite obscure, while it may work fine I would advice you to go with a more known brand psu, you don't want anything bad to happen to it, your psu is vital. this could be a valid option, a little lower wattage but still plenty for your rig: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16817171038
    3: the case well also quite obscure and while the ratings where generally positive they do state its rather flimsy, I would personally go for something more known and reliable. You can actually buy quite a few better cases at this price range like these: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811146058, http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811119256, http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811345014, Just to give a few examples. You could also get this case+psu combo at not much more giving you a better psu and case than what you chose before: http://www.newegg.co...st=Combo.995283

    4: the gpu while there is nothing wrong with it performance wise the stock cooler can get quite loud, better to get one of these two its not much more in terms of price and knowing from my stock cooled hd7950 it is worth it. http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814102983 http://www.newegg.co...N82E16814127662
    5: Ram: you are not going to notice much performance if any difference between the different ram speeds, better to go save some on that, you could use this kit, while it is a bit more expensive than the cheapest ram the difference is small enough to really make going with faster ram still a possibly useful choice: http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820178382


    Please don't start arguing amd vs intel here again, just let him look at benchmarks and discussions elsewhere to make up his mind, there are plenty of those. I am not even going to state my opinion on this.
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the hdd might be a little slow, green series ones are supposed to be used as data storage drives where you wont be constantly reading and writing data to it, blue series are the next step up, and black series are the top performance

    I dont really see any problems with the rest, maybe the psu in questionable but you can take a chance on it
     
  8. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Wow im starting to think i made some bad choices lol Maybe i should have came here before i ordered it all :( So i should replace the PSU,upgrade the HDD to blue or black and maybe look at a few other things?
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Nothing here's going to kill you if you've already ordered it. :P It'll be way better than what you have, at least.
     
  10. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I won't argue against the choice of AMD Bulldozer. Sure Bulldozer didn't live up to AMDs promises, but that doesn't make it a bad series. It will handle the games just fine. I will say that the high speed RAM is completely unnecessary, but it's cheap enough not to matter.

    First, don't replace the PSU unless you get a full refund for it. Just because the PSU is from a lesser brand, doesn't make it as bad as brandless PSUs. The only time you should think about replacing it is if you get issues with stability from the motherboard or graphics card.

    Second, you don't have to replace your HDD at all. The price for Samsung 830 SSDs has crashed recently, so you can pick up a 128GB drive for just under £80. Save up a little and get one - they're cheap enough to justify now. Then any slowness from the HDD will disappear.

    Third, cooling may become your main issue with the case. That case only has one front intake fan and a side exhaust fan. I suggest either replacing the case, or buying a 120mm and 140mm fan straight away to fit into the back and top of the case to complete the airflow. And optionally one more 120mm fan for the side.

    Also, you may consider getting an after market CPU cooler to replace AMDs stock cooler.
     
  11. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    So from what im reading from the comments i may have some trouble with cooling and HDD speed? Should i replace some things or add?

    Also side note

    \Will this setup run 100% of games out now and for maybe months to come?

    Will this setup run "most" games on MAX settings?
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I've got a 5770 and it runs all the games out now (but the newest high-graphics ones on lower settings than high/max).

    Most games on "max" are barely different than "high". "Max" is one of those penis-words, most of the time it's insignificant. The price::Performance ratio for graphical power is not a flat line. You could spend $200 more on a video card and end up getting only 10 more FPS in certain situations at the high-end of things.
     
  13. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    So i take it that it will be able to least run everything on high settings then correct?
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Not everything can be run on high by reasonable hardware at the time it comes out (see Crysis for one of the most famous examples), but you'll be fine.
     
  15. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Sure...until the next-gen consoles come out. (2013)
     
  16. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But the next gen consoles will only be mid-ranged PCs from a couple years ago wrapped in a shiny case with a limited OS.
     
    2 people like this.
  17. Lanlan

    Member Lanlan Tits

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    905
    Location:
    CCCP
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, as of right now I think it'll run everything on max, as long as you aren't blowing up like a million TNTs on Minecraft or something incredibly taxing like that.
     
  18. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would spamming TNT in MC be taxing to the CPU or GPU? I never did hear which makes MC lag so much.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    With TNT it's the CPU and RAM usage. Recent test versions (and thus 1.3) fix the issue (somewhat) by causing TNT to go off in sets instead of all at once if too much TNT was to explode in a single game tick, so it takes a lot more to make it lag than before.
     
  20. Intimidator88
    OP

    Member Intimidator88 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States

    Well if PC gaming is 24 times more powerful then current consoles then im sure that next gen is gonna isnt gonna be a problem. Ok so i feel alot better about my build then but i may switch somethings out if newegg will swap them such as the case and HDD and might upgrade the Processor to the next 1 cause newegg has a good deal on it atm.

    On another note would overclocking be any help to this build gaming wise?
     

Share This Page