new r4-sdhc?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by MxZ119, Dec 10, 2009.

Dec 10, 2009

new r4-sdhc? by MxZ119 at 4:27 PM (1,770 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. MxZ119
    OP

    Newcomer MxZ119 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    Germany
  2. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like there's three new R4's every week. I think this makes sixty. I bet it doesn't work and if it does work I bet it works like crap. If this card was worth buying it would be called something other than R4.
     
  3. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed, I wonder how long clones will turn up with R4 in the title...

    Worryingly, I wonder how many actually buy them [​IMG]
     
  4. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,074
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't knock them, they're saving the good carts. As soon as idiots stop buying R4 clones the counterfeiters will start churning out clones of other, more reputable carts thus muddying the waters further.
     
  5. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do have a point there that I agree with.

    Maybe we can do something to the companies [​IMG]
     
  6. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    This is actually a third generation of a clone. The functions are included in the firmware 1.13b, which works on old cards from the same company. If you have "WWW.R4I-SDHC.COM" on the card this firmware is for you.
     
  7. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I have one of these. It's not really new and it's actually not THAT bad. There's about an update per month.
    Of course I doesn't gets any use after I got the CycloDS, but I'm still following the updates just out of curiosity to see how long it lasts.
     
  8. Gaskie

    Newcomer Gaskie Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is the thing I have, and I'm really struggling to get it working. I want to use the YSmenu thing I see but I've followed the instructions and can't get it installed. Can anyone tell me if it should work on this card? If it doesn't, what should I use?
     
  9. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Do this: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=195821

    It works. Basically you'll start the DSTT firmware from the middle icon (which is usually for Moonshell) so you'll have the same compatibility as a real DSTT, which seems to be quite good with this unofficial firmware.
     

Share This Page