New PS3 System update 3.42

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by moosh01, Sep 7, 2010.

Sep 7, 2010

New PS3 System update 3.42 by moosh01 at 4:54 AM (8,305 Views / 0 Likes) 53 replies

  1. moosh01
    OP

    Member moosh01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    United States
    Just went on my PS3 and see that there is a new system update. Not sure what it involves, but can only guess is is in response to the PSJailbreak/PSGroove. Waiting on this one for a while!

    UPDATE: DO NOT UPDATE! This is confirmed to block PSJailbreak/PSGroove/PSFreedom!

    UPDATE 2: From PSGroove website
     


  2. Fellow

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't trust it.
     
  3. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    according to a few posts i've seen it blocks psjb/psgroove/psfreedom
     
  4. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, they got onto it quick. Good. Is that the only update to it?
     
  5. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I need my online play so goodbye piracy. [​IMG]
     
  6. cruznik71450

    Member cruznik71450 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    I got this today as well after watching a movie. it seemed stange so i didnt update.
     
  7. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    suppose Sony's gonna win the piracy fight, shame was looking forward to play illegal backups, whoops I mean legal backups =D
     
  8. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    I'm kind of curious what all (in how, which won't be easily made public obviously) they patched. Did they remove the capability completely of retail PS3s to be dropped into dev mode using their dongle let alone this pirated wannabe legit dongle or what? Or was it just a direct snipe at these things someone will get into a push and shove fight over making it go, sony plugs it, it goes again...wash rinse repeat. Hopefully for Sony they got smart and just removed the ability to run dev mode in any form legit tools or not on a stock unit. Probably would piss off some licensees if they were going that route instead of a pricey dev kit, but as it goes shit happens.
     
  9. antwill

    Member antwill Better Than You

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Gotta hand it Sony, not only did they patch this exploit quickly, but the update took less than 5 seconds to download. [​IMG] Now I guess we'll see if PSJailbreak was really just a one-trick pony or not.
     
  10. indask8

    Member indask8 New Member Forever

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Look at the Flag...
    Country:
    France
    Now the big question is: how many times, before brand new PS3 comes shipped with this update?
     
  11. keine

    Member keine GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    Wii is so great, its the scene that just keeps on chugging.
    I HOPE the PS3 will be the same and that the hackers will find a way to keep the PS3 open. Just look at what the Wii has made possible. I've heard some say that Sony has not *specifically* blocked groove, its just that the code doesn't recognize 3.42, similarly to how it wouldn't work on 3.40 for instance. Don't quote me though.Nevermind, It was confirmed. I highly highly doubt that after all the PSJailbreak team has invested in this that they are just going to roll over.
    *fingers crossed* that this doesn't destroy the beginning of a fantastic homebrew scene. If devs got behind the PS3, it would be an absolute powerhouse, think XBMC on steroids. Literally emulate ANYthing, and play PS1/PS2/PS3 (the last 20 years) from a 2tB hard drive. I mean....woah. A home media center so powerful, it would put XBMC to shame (and I still think XBMC on my Xbox woops my 360/Wii/PS3 in terms of serving up some home theatre, guess thats why I use it as such, guess thats cause its *OPEN*.)
    For the people that said, meh, I'll just update cause I need my online, a workaround does exist it looks like. The proxy thing....forget the name. I would never forfeit the possibility of home-brew for online play. I'd buy another PS3 before that happened.
    Also this is not late in the game for the PS3. Its just 4 years in for what is supposed to be a 2016 cycle. Thats 6 more years.
     
  12. OrGoN3

    Member OrGoN3 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,005
    Country:
    United States
    If you have already JailBroken your PS3, and are still on 3.41, then use Logan5's Proxy Tool. People have already confirmed it to be playing on PSN with 3.41 still.
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    until they patch that in the next few days also
    they did the same thing with 3.15 with people bypassing the 3.21 PSN block using a proxy also
     
  14. leeagt

    Newcomer leeagt Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Bonny Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    change your primary dns, on the ps3, to

    Primary DNS: 67.202.81.137

    this will allow online access without updating
     
  15. BOTCK

    Newcomer BOTCK Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Seems for me like a hotfix just to keep the piracy problem under control for now.
    can't believe, that it's that easy to patch the DEV mode away - this mode is deep into
    the ps3.

    oh yeah - who cares for these shittys ps3 games , with a ps3 you can do such wonderfull things,
    why waste your time with playing games?
    sony could stop this whole mess with releasing an open ps3 - no ability to play ps3 games to prevent
    piracy but oben for homebrew to run the ps3 as media station or emulator.
     
  16. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    maybe a newer version of psgroove will override this problem
     
  17. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    thanks for the tip, works fine
    a little on the slow side though..
     
  18. moosh01
    OP

    Member moosh01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    United States
    Updated first post with some new info.
     
  19. antwill

    Member antwill Better Than You

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,024
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Would it be possible for you edit the code section so it doesn't stretch the page? And why code instead of say quote or spoiler tags?
     
  20. moosh01
    OP

    Member moosh01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    306
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed thanks
     

Share This Page