New GPU for Core 2 Quad?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by YayMii, Feb 16, 2013.

Feb 16, 2013

New GPU for Core 2 Quad? by YayMii at 6:35 AM (684 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    So I got a desktop computer. Got it for $250, but the GPU died after I bought it and the seller replaced it with a much older one that's unfit for gaming. I'm looking to replace it with a new GPU that's capable of high-end gaming and won't be bottlenecked by the CPU.

    The specs as it stands right now:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 @ 2.67GHz
    HP OEM motherboard
    8GB DDR2 dual-channel RAM
    Nvidia Quadro FX 3450 256MB GDDR3
    750GB SATA2 HDD

    What type of graphics card would I be looking for with this setup? Also, are there alternative ways I might be able to overclock this thing (as this HP mobo doesn't have clock settings in the BIOS)? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Santee

    Member Santee Jalapeño

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    812
    Location:
    Conneticut
    Country:
    United States
  3. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much impossible for overclock a pre-built computer. Even if you can it is ill-advised to do so. OEM motherboard uses inferior VRM to reduce cost, aka voltage regulator module. VRM is responsible for supplying CPU the correct power. Inferior VRM in overclocked settings can lead to numerous bad things.

    The max I would go for is HD7770 or GTX 650. Anything over that your CPU will be the bottleneck next. Wonder who slap a Quadro into a gaming PC? (it is for professional apps)

    Above GPUs are good for 720p or below gaming on high settings.
     
  4. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    @Santee: It is a PCI-e x16 SLI-capable board. But I was asking about a possible bottleneck, not a compatibility thing. Every single card on the list you posted will function on my setup, but I don't want to spend more for something my CPU won't be able to handle.

    @trumpet-205: well, they do sell multiple computers, this thing had a 9800GT before, and I guess that Quadro was all that they had when I brought it back.
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The biggest concern when picking the graphics card is the PSU. HP tend to use cheap, low wattage PSUs that will never be able to handle a decent graphics card.
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Quadro FX 3450 uses 1 PCIe 6-pin power connector, so it is okay to swap in a GPU with the same power requirement.
     
  7. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    The PSU is a cheap 500W if I remember correctly, but I think I have a Corsair 500W that I could use (not that it's going to make a difference performance-wise).
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    500W should be enough. The system requirement for a GTX 650 is 400W, so that gives you some room.
     
  9. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Would the GTX 460 be something to look at? I've heard that it can outperform even the 660, but it's much cheaper.
     
  10. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    GTX 460 does not outperform GTX 660. To give you an idea,

    HD 6770 < HD7750 < GTX 460 < HD 6850 < HD 7770 < HD7850 < GTX 660 < HD7870
     
  11. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    What about the 550/650? Where would those fit?
     
  12. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Do you mean GTX 550 Ti?

    550 Ti and 650 offers the same performance, but 650 uses smaller die so it consumes less power and produces less heat. GTX 550 Ti & 650 are closely matched to HD 7770.

    GTX 650 Ti sits between HD 7770 and HD 7850 (difference among those two HD is huge).
     
  13. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Forgot to mention, since there's enough price difference, would 2 GTX 460s in SLI (I might be able to get 768MB ones for cheap) be enough to compete with a single GTX 650 or 660?
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If you mean the non-Ti versions, the 460 is already stronger than the 650.

    If you do mean the Ti versions then two 460s should be a good bit better than a 650 Ti (a single is around the same area in benchmarks) and two should be a bit better than a 660 Ti... but I say "should" because SLI/Crossfire is not double power, even today it has issues.
     
  15. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, they're the non-Ti versions. Specifically the eVGA GTX 460 factory-overclocked "FTW edition" cards.
    One more question, would my 500W PSU be enough to power two of these?
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I meant the 650 and 660 Ti/non.

    And no, I wouldn't go 500W for SLI. Also I wouldn't go SLI. It has downsides. It's mainly useful when you need more power but it's not available (like you already have the highest-end card). Get a single more powerful card instead.
     
  17. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    SLI only works with games that support it. For games that don't you will have the second GPU on idle.

    If you really want to get GTX 460 you must get 1 GB 256-bit one, not 768 MB or 192-bit one (that one has performance cut quite a bit).
     
  18. YayMii
    OP

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    So the 460s are out of the question, I guess. I'll be getting a 650 then. A local store has the 650 Ti on sale for $140. Is the performance boost on the Ti significant enough to be worth the extra $30 over the non-Ti?
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Most definitely. This is one of those "It's so much stronger I'm surprised they didn't use a new name) situations, like when the 8800GT came out.
     

Share This Page