1. gadgamonguy

    OP gadgamonguy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I fear that I may have damaged the touchscreen ribbon cable after doing a hardmod.

    I think this is the cable and I was wondering what I could to in order to fix it


    http://imgur.com/a/0nX3m


    Thank you so much!
     
  2. cheuble

    cheuble squid
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    747
    Country:
    France
    Can the 3DS boot fine?
     
  3. gadgamonguy

    OP gadgamonguy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    The 3ds booted fine, just no touch screen functionality.
     
  4. cheuble

    cheuble squid
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    747
    Country:
    France
    Then I can't help you, sorry :(
     
  5. gadgamonguy

    OP gadgamonguy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Ah, thanks for trying though.

    Anyone else have any thoughts?
     
  6. TariqSoftDev

    TariqSoftDev ~Zexceil
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Yeah I do, your perfectly fine just slightly bend the cable back to being straight then put it in, happened to me

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    also if the copper traces are broke then your done for , buy a new digitizer , they're pretty cheap, remove your screen and slighty heat, then use a razor knife to carefully remove it and replace with a clear see through adhesive evenly distributed.
     
    simon66 likes this.
  7. simon66

    simon66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, like @TariqSoftDev said, try to unbend it and slide it back into the connector. The flex cable traces doesn't look like they're damaged.
     
  8. gadgamonguy

    OP gadgamonguy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I tried to straighten it out and push it in until it wouldn't go further, but no luck.
    Is this definitely the right cable?
     
  9. Pippin666

    Pippin666 SSF43DE Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,068
    Country:
    Canada
    So many trouble just to break your console. I feel sorry.

    Pip'
     
  10. gadgamonguy

    OP gadgamonguy Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    I check the cable again and it turns out that I snapped the copper traces.
    I'm deciding between taking it back to argos and saying that I dropped it or replacing the whole digitizer.

    Thanks for trying to help anyway guys.
     
  11. simon66

    simon66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    Yea, is the copper trace is snapped, you're out of luck. You need to replace the digitizer. Keep in mind if you don't do it right, you will have dust stuck in between the old screen and the new digitizer. Pay for a replacement or get it fixed.
    Do the right thing ;)
     
  12. TariqSoftDev

    TariqSoftDev ~Zexceil
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    You wont have dust stuck if you do it under a paper that is sitting about 5-6cm above while you install the new digitizer , also if you have a soldering iron try and bridge it with copper wires
     
  13. simon66

    simon66 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Canada
    That will definitely melt the flex cable (If not done right). I would recommend just replacing it or getting it fixed
     
  14. Sirstiv

    Sirstiv Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Hi guys, sorry to highjack the thread.

    I recently replaced the 3ds charge port in my N3DSXL. It was working before.

    While I was removing solder the iron touched the digitizer cable. It melted it slightly... but enough to look attached.

    Now the console only has a blue light when turning on and doesn't boot.

    Can a faulty digitizer / stuffed digitizer cable cause this?
     
  15. johanw90

    johanw90 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i replaced my top screen,and damaged the digitizer cable after reassembly the new 3ds xl wont turn on.
    If i put in the charger the orange light turns on for a few seconds.

    can this be the problem of the digitizer?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - hardmod, broken, screen