NULL

New 3DS LL Question

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Seraphic, May 21, 2019.

  1. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Hi,

    New the the forum and wanted to double check something before I try to get this modded up. My goal is emulation of other systems and enabling overclocking (which means I think I need Luma) to try out 3DS games without slowdown. So the system came with 11.6.0-39J, do I want to connect to the Japanese network and updated to 11.9.0-42U before using 3ds.hacks.guide ? Also, what is the process to change region to English firmware? Last, if I do not connect to the Japanese network to update before hacking the system, then switch to the English region after, is it correct that I will still not be able to connect to the English 3DS network (not big deal, just wondering)? System looks NEW, so pretty sure it was never used before. However, the 3D slider was all the way up when I opened it which seemed little odd as I thought they came from factory turned off.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited by Seraphic, May 21, 2019
  2. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    Install custom firmware and then do a ctr transfer. There is a guide on the site which you have linked.
     
  3. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Should I update OFW from 11.6.0-39J to 11.9.0-42U first?
     
  4. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    Doesn't matter. Cfw works on all Firmware versions
     
  5. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Yes, but if I do the region change while still on 11.6.0-39J I will not be able connect to the US eStore, correct? So how would I update to 11.9.0-42U then?
     
  6. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    But wait...why do you want to switch the region?
     
  7. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    It's an LL so Japanese to English. Guess I don't have to, but just for convenience.
     
    Last edited by Seraphic, May 22, 2019
  8. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    Then install cfw and you are fine.

    You can "underclock" the new 3ds xD
    Or with other words said,you can switch between two modes.
     
  9. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    You will be able to access the US EShop if your console never connected to jap eshop else there is a method to work that around
     
  10. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Is there a way to test if it has connected to the JPN eShop? I am not 100% either way.
    System listed as new was packed and looks brand new and came with 11.6.0-39J (Update released: September 18th, 2017), but the 3D slider was all the way up when I opened it which seemed out of place.
     
    Last edited by Seraphic, May 22, 2019
  11. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    You can't check without modding it. And the 3D slider is normal, also my New 3DS XL came it with the slider all up
     
  12. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Okay good. Then it should have not been connected to the Japanese eShop then.
    So if I region change, then try to connect to US eShop and it fails for some reason, are there any games that have 11.6.0-39 so I can still update to latest firmware?
     
  13. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    11.9 Is the latest firmware. You can use official system update.
     
  14. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Oh, so that is different then accessing region eShop?
     
  15. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    But before you change the region...you need cfw ;)
     
  16. Seraphic
    OP

    Seraphic Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    May 21, 2019
    United States
    Yes, but is accessing the official system update option the same as accessing system region eShop?
     
  17. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
  18. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    Someone wrote to me earlier that you need cfw first before changing the region. Otherwise the 3ds won't boot obviously (i think). I don't know the name from this user anymore. But install cfw first and change the region after installing. The other question is...why does he want to do that? Luma removes anyway the region lock. You can also install updates and DLCs manually via FBI. You don't need an eShop for that ;)
     
  19. am714

    am714 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    3
    Apr 1, 2018
    Italy
    The user wants ENGLISH MENUS AND ENGLISH games with english eshop
     
  20. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    5
    Jul 23, 2018
    Germany
    Oh...i didn't read that. Sorry
     
Loading...