Netflix without Disc

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nobody2000, Oct 18, 2010.

Oct 18, 2010

Netflix without Disc by nobody2000 at 1:36 PM (6,250 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. nobody2000
    OP

    Newcomer nobody2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States


  2. Goli

    Member Goli RPG

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    Chile
  3. ollepoll

    Member ollepoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    germany
    Country:
    Germany
    wtf are you talking about.
    the iso easily became a wad
     
  4. nobody2000
    OP

    Newcomer nobody2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Newer wii menu versions and dumb users don't have anything to worry about. You speak of this like it's a bad thing.
     
  5. jackharvest

    Newcomer jackharvest Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. Isn't the official netflix channel going to be more stable? Can we expect a new release? (hell, is the one directly from netflix free or not?) "This new channel is available at no extra cost. The new disc-free option installs Netflix on the Wii Menu, making it convenient for Wii owners to quickly access streaming movies and TV shows."

    Ok, that answers that. Huzzah!
     
  6. terminal_illness

    Member terminal_illness Dark Hadou Master

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    Canada! Mah Fukas!
    Country:
    Canada
    i just got it, its no different than the wad i already had installed that was a forwarder to my netflix disc saved on usb...


    cept it loads faster and takes more blocks..
     
  7. versapak

    Newcomer versapak Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

    The one you already had offered up searching?

    I figured that was a feature new to this latest release. I didn't realize there were other Netflix releases for Wii aside from the one that they launched originally (which I know for a fact didn't offer searching, since it is the one I was using up until today).
     
  8. j0e2

    Newcomer j0e2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    i haven't done a system update in a long time because i'm afraid of bricking my wii or disabling HBC.

    can someone upload the wad for this new channel, or explain how I can do a safe system update (or fake it) so i can use the shop channel to download it myself?

    thanks very much [​IMG]
     
  9. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, they updated the disc before the wiiware app. disc v1.1 could also do searching.
     
  10. WalkerD

    Member WalkerD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been looking for one myself. But I'm pretty sure you aren't supposed to ask for WADs here.
     
  11. fattest

    Member fattest GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    you can follow this guide to update your system menu and other ios'es (including ios56 and shop channel)

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901
     
  12. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't want the whole 4.2 update, you can get away with installing just Shop v20 and IOS56 v5662.

    Also, for those who want to know, the netflix channel uses IOS56.
     
  13. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Can you install Shop v20 with WiiSCU?
     
  14. KaiWren

    Newcomer KaiWren Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United States
    Installed Shop Channel V20 and IOS 56 with wad manager, downloaded from modmii, worked like a dream, and now i can search, yay!
     
  15. j0e2

    Newcomer j0e2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    i installed ios56 v5662 and shopping channel v20 and now the shopping channel gives me blue screen error #002

    so now what do i do? any ideas? i got it on release day in 2006 or whatever and put HBC on it a year or so later and have just been happy to use HBC since then. but my roommate loves her netflix so i really wanted to put the new netflix channel on there. i don't even really care if the shopping channel works, as long as i can somehow get the new netflix channel working.
     
  16. boondoklife

    Member boondoklife GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Jah's Pocket
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any difference between the new disc and the new channel? If not then why not just use the forwarder method we have been using?
     
  17. j0e2

    Newcomer j0e2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    i don't have a USB drive and I don't have the new disc
     
  18. Aeladya

    Member Aeladya *mistressOFtheCLOW

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    759
    Location:
    Idaho Falls, ID
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't it be easier to find and install the .wad?
     
  19. w!!

    Member w!! GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, it was quite easy to update just the shop channel and install ios 56 using dop-mii... And I've had wads installed for the internet channel, and when I tried to update it through the shop channel, it would fail to install. So if there is an update for it, and I hope they do update it somewhat frequently, you'd have to remove the wad and install a new one manually (not a big deal I guess, but not easier [​IMG] ). P.S.... i started a netflix wishlist thread if you want to contribute....

    Netflix Wishlist Thread

    BTW there is no difference between the 1.0.1 disc version and the channel.
     
  20. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Shop gives error 002 when something is wrong with IOS56. Verify that you have an unaltered (no trucha or other patches) IOS56 v5662 installed.
     

Share This Page