NesDS with MSDHC: Freeze Up

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by ZeroPhilosoph, Feb 18, 2009.

Feb 18, 2009
  1. ZeroPhilosoph
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroPhilosoph Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Ireland
    Ok. So I've searched the forum with google, but couldn't find anything responding to my search queries. Maybe I'm just not thinking of the correct search queries, but I was hoping I could get something newer than a 2006 thread on this topic!

    I bought a Supercard DSone a couple of weeks ago, and had been using my brother's MicroSD card with it until I bought my own one. It's a 2gb regular MSD, and it worked like a dream. I was able to play Mario Adventure, DarkDaiz' romhack, on it perfectly, and I was really enjoying it.

    Bought myself an 8gb MicroSDHC a couple of days ago. It's great, and there's plenty of room on it. Except NesDS has stopped working flawlessly. It still plays most Roms, but freezes up when I try to save state, or load another rom. I've seen this problem mentioned along with MSDHCs before, but I couldn't find any fixes for it, and I'm desperate for a solution that doesn't involve swapping microSDs whenever I want to play a NES game. Besides this, it freezes up the moment I go to start playing Mario Adventure, so that's completely out. Which was sort of the attraction!

    Before anyone mentions it, the Supercard is supposed to autopatch all .nds files with a DLDI patch. But I didn't leave this to chance either, and tried patching it myself, and turning off the autopatch feature to see if that worked. Nothing.



    Subsidiary query.... For some reason, NDS_TGM loads on my SupercardDS1, but it's just a black screen. The problem was mentioned on the original website of the game, but there was no solution, and that was about six months ago. I know it works on my DS using an R4, so the problem seems specific to the SCDS1. Does anyone know of a solution or a workaround?
     
  2. ZeroPhilosoph
    OP

    Newcomer ZeroPhilosoph Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Ireland
    I guess it's not all that common a problem. ?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Hisiru

    Member Hisiru GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    Brazil
    oh! Easy [​IMG]

    you must to use the DSTT in your supercard DS one (yes, it's possible).

    step 1-> Delete the archive "MSFORSC.NDS" and the folder "schell" (save your skins, if you have)
    step 2-> Get this (made by me) http://www.mediafire.com/?nwjnzmnglnw
    step 3-> extract all the archives and folders. Send all the archives and folders to you SD

    this will start with the Supercard DS one, but you can change to the DSTT by clicking in "TTMENU". Now, with the DSTT open, you can run the emulator without problems [​IMG]

    with this, you will have the lastest firmwares for DSTT (V1.7) and Supercard DS one (SP5)

    Sorry for the bad english [​IMG]

    [edit] i get this here in the gbatemp, but i did an easier way to run it.[/edit]
     
  4. devouringone3

    Newcomer devouringone3 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks a lot, my nesds started to freeze with save-state menu and new rom loading, and now it wasn't able to enter my nes roms folder... this TTmenu will play nesDS perfectly.

    + I now have some french skin... good thing I'm a native french speaker [​IMG].
     

Share This Page