Need help with my Xbox 360 Controller!?

Centrix

Stop Poking the Moogle!
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
992
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Seattle,WA
XP
940
Country
United States
Ok so firstly, I looked at both the PC forums and the 360 ones and wasn't sure where to post this, so mods pls move it to the appropriate place if this isn't where it goes thanks :D

Now that we have that outta the way, can some one explain to me why, no matter what I do I can't seem to get the stupid xbox 360 controller to connect and stop having all 4 lights blink :( I'm running Windows 10 Home Premium 64bit :) I hope some one can help me with this, it shows that the device drivers are installed in my device manager, there are no ! any where.

I'm so confusaled!? :(

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the Microsoft drivers several times and restarting to no avail :(
 
Last edited by Centrix,

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,272
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Washington State
XP
2,165
Country
United States
The drivers should be built into windows 10, it was plug and play for me. The chatpad however, is not.
The 360 chatpad requires a highly unstable 3rd party driver, called the super chatpad driver. Honestly, if you want a chatpad with your Xbox controller, get an Xbox One controller and the official chatpad for that. It's Windows-compatible out of the box. The One's controller is ridiculously superior anyway.

@Centrix Try manually uninstalling the 360 controller drivers in the Device Manager, unplugging then plugging the controller back in. Do this while connected to the internet, Windows will either restore the driver from built-in backups or download new ones. Either way it might solve it.
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,738
Trophies
0
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
3,435
Country
United States
The 360 chatpad requires a highly unstable 3rd party driver, called the super chatpad driver. Honestly, if you want a chatpad with your Xbox controller, get an Xbox One controller and the official chatpad for that. It's Windows-compatible out of the box. The One's controller is ridiculously superior anyway.

@Centrix Try manually uninstalling the 360 controller drivers in the Device Manager, unplugging then plugging the controller back in. Do this while connected to the internet, Windows will either restore the driver from built-in backups or download newones. Either way it might solve it.
Why can't they just make proper drivers for the darn thing?

Edit:
I'm not seeing a wired controller, how strange.
 
Last edited by gudenau,

Centrix

Stop Poking the Moogle!
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
992
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Seattle,WA
XP
940
Country
United States
Where all good now, I took back the old one and got a new one one thats a Gamestop one and it works like a charm :D

Thanks For the help guys :D
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,272
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Washington State
XP
2,165
Country
United States
Why can't they just make proper drivers for the darn thing?.\
Microsoft promised a driver for it a long time back, but they never delivered because Microsoft. But trust me, as a guy who used a 360 controller with his PC for a long time, and even put up with the super chatpad driver (and all the blue screens it caused), everything about the Xbone's controller and chatpad is better, in every way, shape and form. It's worth the investment.

@Centrix I'm glad you got it solved :)
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,738
Trophies
0
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
3,435
Country
United States
Microsoft promised a driver for it a long time back, but they never delivered because Microsoft. But trust me, as a guy who used a 360 controller with his PC for a long time, and even put up with the super chatpad driver (and all the blue screens it caused), everything about the Xbone's controller and chatpad is better, in every way, shape and form. It's worth the investment.

@Centrix I'm glad you got it solved :)

So, where is a wired option?
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,272
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Washington State
XP
2,165
Country
United States
Xbox One.
You have both options in one package. There's a microUSB socket on the One controller for wired, and if you want wireless with PC there's a separate dongle you need to buy. I just use a USB cable for both my PC and Xbone with it, since that saves me the trouble of needing to resync it with the console.
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,738
Trophies
0
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
3,435
Country
United States
You have both options in one package. There's a microUSB socket on the One controller for wired, and if you want wireless with PC there's a separate dongle you need to buy.
That is kinda lame, I don't want to spend money on a radio that will lie dorment in my controller. :-/
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,272
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Washington State
XP
2,165
Country
United States
That is kinda lame, I don't want to spend money on a radio that will lie dorment in my controller. :-/
Then buy the wireless dongle? Like I said, I personally don't need it. The cable saves me the effort of resyncing the device and I don't sit far away from my console or PC enough to need wireless, though I occasionally do pop batteries into it if the cable is getting in the way while I play on the Xbone.
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,738
Trophies
0
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
3,435
Country
United States
Then buy the wireless dongle? Like I said, I personally don't need it. The cable saves me the effort of resyncing the device and I don't sit far away from my console or PC enough to need wireless, though I occasionally do pop batteries into it if the cable is getting in the way while I play on the Xbone.
Don't have a Xbox One, don't plan on getting one ether.
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,272
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Washington State
XP
2,165
Country
United States
Then buy the wireless dongle? Like I said, I personally don't need it. The cable saves me the effort of resyncing the device and I don't sit far away from my console or PC enough to need wireless, though I occasionally do pop batteries into it if the cable is getting in the way while I play on the Xbone.

EDIT: There's also cheaper 3rd part Xbone controllers that have only wired, but the chatpad doesn't work with them, and they're frankly kinda crummy by comparison.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Don't have a Xbox One, don't plan on getting one ether.
So? Just because you don't plan on getting the console doesn't make it a bad idea to get the controller, at least in this case. If you haven't yet done so, go and play a game with you 360 controller for an hour or two, then find a demo Xbox One console at a local store somewhere and handle that controller. Hell, bring your 360 controller with you if you want a better contrast. I'll be shocked if you come back and tell me you hate it.
 

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,738
Trophies
0
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
3,435
Country
United States
EDIT: There's also cheaper 3rd part Xbone controllers that have only wired, but the chatpad doesn't work with them, and they're frankly kinda crummy by comparison.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


So? Just because you don't plan on getting the console doesn't make it a bad idea to get the controller, at least in this case. If you haven't yet done so, go and play a game with you 360 controller for an hour or two, then find a demo Xbox One console at a local store somewhere and handle that controller. Hell, bring your 360 controller with you if you want a better contrast. I'll be shocked if you come back and tell me you hate it.
But spending near 100$ just for a crappy keyboard when I don't use the 360 controller that much is just not justifiable. :-/
 

Centrix

Stop Poking the Moogle!
Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
992
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Seattle,WA
XP
940
Country
United States
Well to tell you the truth I just bought I hi-end gaming laptop from Xidax custom built to my specs and I just plugged in my 360 controller from gamestop and it installed the device drivers and now works :D I was just having problems getting it working on my old laptop and it still doesn't lol :P
 

Arecaidian Fox

fox-ott
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,272
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Washington State
XP
2,165
Country
United States
But spending near 100$ just for a crappy keyboard when I don't use the 360 controller that much is just not justifiable. :-/
Ah, okay, I misunderstood. I thought you were one of those crazy holdout people who swear that the 360 controller is made from the blood of Jesus or something (and no, I do not have that kind of feeling regarding the Xbone controller, it's simply a superior product). But if you don't really play your PC games with the 360 controller that much, much less want or need a small keyboard attached to it, then no, I can't say it's a good investment.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gudenau

gudenau

Largely ignored
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 7, 2010
Messages
3,738
Trophies
0
Location
/dev/random
Website
www.gudenau.net
XP
3,435
Country
United States
Well to tell you the truth I just bought I hi-end gaming laptop from Xidax custom built to my specs and I just plugged in my 360 controller from gamestop and it installed the device drivers and now works :D I was just having problems getting it working on my old laptop and it still doesn't lol :P
Sorry about hijacking your thread.
 
Last edited by gudenau,
  • Like
Reactions: Arecaidian Fox

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Pandaxclone2 @ Pandaxclone2:
    Live chat again, eh?
  • G @ gbatempfan1:
    Congrats on a successful site upgrade, afaik. Looking forward to even more decades.
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    @Psionic Roshambo, that sounds really interesting actually. what is the origin story
    of toilet paper?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    "Tests indicate that tree bark is too rough and Trog complain when I use his hair..."
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    but its not like they would have found toilet paper lying around, at what point did they learn to make it
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    im so invested in this now
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Probably when politics first got printed...
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    good point
  • Megadriver94 @ Megadriver94:
    How do you add images on here
  • BORTZ @ BORTZ:
    weiners
  • CPG @ CPG:
    incredible
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    @Megadriver94 theres a button for it lol, but it only accepts a URL
    Zj5yYmn.png
  • banjo2 @ banjo2:
    Epic embed success
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    This is new; shoutbox replacement/addition?
  • Zyvyn @ Zyvyn:
    So after the update I unlocked 2 trophies. Is it possible to see all the other earn-able trophies?
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    WOOHOO! I finally put my New battery in my laptop. And as you can see whaala. yay
  • AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219:
    Wow! New shutbox! Yeah! 🥰
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    @RichardTheKing yes it is a shoutbox replacement, see the main news thread for details
    +1
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    @Zyvyn there aren't any except those 2 currently but more are planned and when they're added you can see them here: https://gbatemp.net/help/categorized-trophies/
    I got there by clicking the number of trophies I have, and then clicking the button labelled "View all available trophies"
    +1
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    @Seriel Why is your reply blinding cream? Is there a way to disable that highlight?
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    I think that's a theme bug, it happened because I mentioned you.
    The colour choice makes much more sense on the light theme, it's just the dark theme(s) where its super yikes
    +1
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Yep, your message now (and your own to Zyvyn) isn't cream.
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    Initial release; not too surprised there's a colour bug, really.
  • AlexMCS @ AlexMCS:
    new shoutbox huh? cool
  • Seriel @ Seriel:
    Yeah I intentionally didn't mention you in that one because I wanted the message to actually be readable hahah
    from Zyvyn's point of view my reply to them will be cream instead
    Seriel @ Seriel: Yeah I intentionally didn't mention you in that one because I wanted the message to actually be...