NEED HELP - Where can i buy a freemcboot?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by tenshinoneko, Nov 8, 2009.

Nov 8, 2009
  1. tenshinoneko
    OP

    Member tenshinoneko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    I need help, i am looking to buy a freemcboot, i've tried for the whole morning but i haven't had any luck.... just one website in the UK, but i live in the US.

    thank you in advance ^^
     
  2. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    hu? freemcboot is a free program you install to your memory card ^^"
     
  3. tenshinoneko
    OP

    Member tenshinoneko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    How can i do it?
    I am about to buy a ps2 slim (the one bundled with singstar)
    I am really stupid with PS2 stuff
     
  4. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Go here. Read everything.
     
  5. tenshinoneko
    OP

    Member tenshinoneko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    OK, i got the Action Replay Max with the 16MB card it comes with. Will i need another memory card? and does it work with the ps2 slim white (bundled with singstar pop)?
     
  6. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    From the above quote, I don't believe it will install with the version of AR you have (don't know as I used swap magic to do my installs).

    Yes, you will need an actual PS2 memory card. If you read everything, like I said, you would have known the answer to that. [​IMG]

    And yes, it should work with your version of PS2.
     
  7. tenshinoneko
    OP

    Member tenshinoneko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Oh cool, I should better get a Swap magic 3.6 plus + magic switch pro.

    But where should i get them? like a trustworthy place ^ ^ I would really appreciate it. I am sorry for asking for too much
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I guess the Action Replay Max allows you to backup savegames? If yes, you only need an official ps2 memory card and one ps1 game(only once). Look for indepence exploit in the guide. The independence exploit creates a special system config file that loads the .elf file you included in the process when you start the ps2 with the memory card and that specific ps1 game inserted. I recommend to put uLaunchELF in there, but putten the Free McBoot installer .elf there should also work.
     
  9. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    @WiiPower That would work buuuut he is getting a ps2 slim.

    A swapmagic set would be better since I could be wrong but you could possibly get a slim that can't install fmcb. (does the singstar bundle come with these or not?)
     
  10. justinefremlouw

    Member justinefremlouw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Chi Town
    Country:
    United States
    FMCB should work on PS2 slim below SCPH9XXXX
    as for independence exploit, it will only work with the fat ps2.

    Unless you've already bought your PS2, I would recommend getting a used fat ps2 instead. It's much easier to install FMCB, since you can use independence exploit. Plus, you have much wider range of options rather than just swap magic (which you need to buy online...) and you don't have to worry about getting an unFMCBable ps2 since all phat are compatible with FMCB


    but, if you insist on swap magic, then check their website. They have a list of trustworthy retailers who are selling swap magic.
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have no idea what offers you have over there, but If the PS2 in the bundle is the slim with the integrated power supply it's not FMCB compatible....
     
  12. Sao Mortel

    Member Sao Mortel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    there are over 50 millions PS2 consoles out there that ARE compatible with Freemcboot make sure you get one. Look for someone to install it for you locally if you can maybe post an add in free classified saying that youre willing to pay (be generous maybe half what you would have paid for swap magic/whatever you were going to buy)
     

Share This Page