Need Help WBFS + Windows 7

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AzViking, Jun 20, 2010.

Jun 20, 2010

Need Help WBFS + Windows 7 by AzViking at 1:13 AM (1,103 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. AzViking
    OP

    Newcomer AzViking Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I am having some trouble formating my HDD to WBFS, I formatted it to FAT32, as the guide i was following suggested, but when I run wbfs_win, the program to format the hdd to wbfs it keeps saying "could not open drive: no error" I think it might be because I am running Windows 7.. maybe? I'm not really sure, can anyone give me a link to a newer wbfs_win maybe? or do I need to use a different version of windows? or what?
     
  2. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Did you try to right click the program and run as admin
     
  3. jbm715

    Newcomer jbm715 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Yea I've had to run all the managers as admin. They wouldn't work otherwise.
     
  4. metroid4life14

    Member metroid4life14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, windows 7 wouldn't format my drive either. I ended up formatting my drive with a loader.
     
  5. rcsgd

    Newcomer rcsgd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Australia
  6. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    All these utils require Admin priviledge on Win7.

    PS: Wii Backup Manager is the go.

    Better yet, dont bother with WBFS at all, and just go FAT32.
     
  7. AzViking
    OP

    Newcomer AzViking Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I feel stupid for asking this now, I figured it out, sorry to have wasted anyones time by making them read this stoopid question



    And what do you mean by dont bother with wbfs at all, I thought you have to go wbfs,

    is there a way I can load from usb without having to deal with the wbfs file system
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
  9. AzViking
    OP

    Newcomer AzViking Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    well, now I've got it formatted to wbfs but I am having trouble moving the iso onto the hd,


    (edit)
    well now I'm downloading the wii backup manager, I don't know why I didn't do that to begin with, I'm sure it it will make my life much easier
     
  10. AzViking
    OP

    Newcomer AzViking Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I feel stupid for asking this now, I figured it out, sorry to have wasted anyones time by making them read this stoopid question
     
  11. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You haven't needed wbfs for a long time. However you were limited to the choice of loader as not all of them supported it. Any loader that still doesn't support FAT32 isn't worth bothering with.
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    exactly.

    if only uloader supported .wbfs files..
     
  13. AzViking
    OP

    Newcomer AzViking Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know why it keeps posting the same thing over and over again, i didn't mean to,
    its probably because I kept this tab up and just hit refresh to see what people said,

    so I got it all working correctly, the only thing is when it loads an iso it loads it in black and white and it's very fuzzy looking,
    it might be a problem with the iso because i only have 1 right now to test it with, but I don't think it is
     

Share This Page