Need help for preparing for eshop closure and potential broken 3DS

M97

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
So in the situation where the 3DS breaks after the ehsop closes, could someone link me to a guide on what to do to restore save files found on my 3DS' SD card so that it can be moved on another 3DS (since apparently they are encrypted)?

Also if such a thing happens, would I still be able to use something like Pokebank on a new 3DS system with the same or new Nintendo ID after having copied the app?

I'm new to this so it would be very helpful if someone could direct me on how to do it.

Kwyjor

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
could someone link me to a guide
There isn't always going to be a "guide" for things like this. Sometimes you're just going to have to Google things for yourself and figure them out. If you can't figure things out, then you can make a post that carefully explains the particular questions you have.

Checkpoint runs on your 3DS and decrypts your save data; you can then copy it off your SD card and use it elsewhere. To copy things off your SD card, you can use 3DSync or FTP. microSD Management is another option on New 3DS units, but it uses a very insecure protocol and us usually not recommended. Or you can just insert your SD card in an SD card reader on your PC, but things tend to go wrong if you repeatedly move your SD card around.

Checkpoint requires CFW to be installed. JKSM is an alternative that can be run through "userland" exploits that are not persistent, but almost no one does that anymore.

Mii Plaza is a major stumbling block. No one that I know of has come up with a good solution for fully saving and restoring Mii Plaza data. (I would love to learn the alternative.)