Need help deciding if this is good PC upgrade

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AceWarhead, Apr 11, 2012.

Apr 11, 2012
  1. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    For what, specifically?
     
  3. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will lose your graphics, so you'll have to buy a graphics card.

    G.skill is better than Kingston.

    Why do you want AMD Bulldozer? Why not Intel core i3?
     
  4. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Because I am a cheap bastard. Plus, many reviews state that it's a pretty good processor
    What graphics card do you recommend? I need this for light to very moderate gaming, like Project Blackout


    Light to moderate gaming, such as ROSE online and Project Blackout
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't really need much in the way of graphics, GeForce 5700 or higher. If you got an AMD A8 APU instead of the Bulldozer (FX) CPU, you'd get graphics built in which is more than enough for those games.

    BTW, the reviews I've read say the Bulldozer series was very underwhelming. For the price you pay, you really don't get much strength out of it. AMD promise Piledriver will be much stronger, but I've learned not to expect anything from AMD's promises.
     
  6. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    So, I decided to get this
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819106001
    Will I still be able to keep my motherboard?
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A8 uses an FM1 socket. Your selected motherboard has an AM3 socket. They are not compatible, so you will have to find an FM1 socket motherboard to use the A8.
     
  8. Dingoo-fan 32

    Member Dingoo-fan 32 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    Brazil
    Phenom II X4 is cheap too, works on AM3 sockets...
     
  9. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Thing is, though, the Phenom II series doesn't have an on-board GPU, which I really like on the AM3 A8 APU.
    So, new motherboard is this:
    http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131813
    I am rather clueless about the CPU fan, however. Can I keep my old one, or do I have to purchase a new one,
    Also, how would I calculate how many watts this setup will take, so I can choose a proper power supply?
    EDIT: Setup as of now:
    APU
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819106001
    Motherboard:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131813
    RAM:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231277
    Everything else ( except for the nVidia Graphics card ) i sthe same.
    My current Power Supply supports 400w of continuous power.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The onboard GPU is not meant for gaming. It's not a replacement for a dedicated card in that regard.

    Just because it's built into the CPU doesn't mean it in a better class than other integrated graphics.

    EDIT: Fixed.
     
  11. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not using this thing for super-intensive gaming, only for lightweight gaming such as Project Blackout
    And i KNOW that just because it's built into the CPU, it's not better than integrated graphics.
    But by mentioning that, what do you recommend? I'm on a tight budget of 200-270 USD
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any CPU will come with a heatsink/fan, so don't worry about that on your budget. Sure, ANY after market heatsink will be much cooler and quieter, but you have to pay extra for that optional component. You can always just get a new one later, once you've saved up a bit.
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so what about how to calculate the watt usage so I can get an appropriate power supply?
     
  14. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Any CPU that's not labelled as "OEM". OEM ones can come without the HSF.

    Here's a simple calculator.
    http://images10.newegg.com/BizIntell/tool/psucalc/index.html

    Here's a more in-depth one.
    http://psucalc.tk/
     
  15. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    My AMD A8 APU runs excellent for gaming. I can run games like Crysis 2 and Sonic Generations on high settings. I recommend it, especially for only moderate gaming :D
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I call BS on Crysis 2 on high.

    BUT, checking out the A8, it turns out they state it's around an HD 6550, so it is much better than I thought, and much better than previous models.
     
  17. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which is why I said it would be enough for his needs. Not the best, but enough on a budget.
     
  18. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, sorry for bump, but I am kinda confused on if 400w PSU will be enough for the setup I have now., which is:
    EDIT: Setup as of now:
    APU
    http://www.newegg.co...N82E16819106001
    Motherboard:
    http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131813
    RAM:
    http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231277
    Using the Newegg calculator i got 285w, but I can't figure out if I choose the graphics card as "Integrated on Motherboard," because there is no choice for the Radeon HD 6550D on the APU...
     
  19. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The APU is integrated into the CPU, not the motherboard. However, for the purposes of that calculator, you can just use that option.

    I'd tell you how much you really need, but it's late and I'm already half asleep in bed. I'll let someone else answer for you.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. AceWarhead
    OP

    Member AceWarhead "Must Construct Additional Pylons"

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, well, when you're all rested up, tell me the answer.
    Many thanks.
     

Share This Page