1. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    I have been racking my brain all day today trying to upgrade a friends wii.

    long story short, he bought it off craigslist, but they didn't tell him it was all in japanese. It does have a modchip in it, but they didn't tell him which one and now won't answer his emails.

    Currently the system menu is at 2.0j

    What I would like to do is make it NTSC on 3.2e

    I'm searching high and low, and there really isn't a definitive guide for this =/
    basically, what's the safest way to get this thing to 3.2j, and then use any region changer?
     
  2. sjeps

    sjeps Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Italy
    anyregionchanger [​IMG]

    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/AnyRegion_Changer

    if the chip doesn't work with the new region reinstall the old system menu and open the wii to know wich chip is and update it. should be easy since it was already opened.
    you could also check the seller site forums-comments, you may find wich chip was installed
     
  3. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Right, I mentioned that.

    I plan on using the iso installer to get the homebrew chan on there, but I need to get the Wii to 3.2j.


    I was thinking of updating through wii-fit pal, to 3.3j as well...?
     
  4. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    thanks sjeps, but in order to use the anyregionchanger, I need to get the homebrew chan on there =)
     
  5. Det1re

    Det1re det1re.de
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    You have a modchip. So there should be absolutly no problem installing HBC...

    -> http://hbc.hackmii.com/download/
     
  6. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Well, popping in Wii-Fit Pal, didn't prompt me to update anything at all.

    Though, I popped in an NTSC game, and it started updating...I swiftly yanked the power cord, and everything still boots up fine.


    Grrrr!
     
  8. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    I'm hoping I don't have to give up on this =/


    Surely someone has an answer that actually reads my problem?


    Just help me get the homebrew chan on and I'll be a happy dude!
     
  9. MightyMouse

    MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Country:
    run the twilight hack with zelda but put the .dol of anyregionchanger on the root of your SD card instead of the homebrew channel installer.

    when this runs you can then change the region and install 3.2 all from there.

    should work dude, and dont be updating with PAL/NTSC copies, your jap, so you should be updating with a JAP disc.

    if you install a update from a diff region your gonna end up in more trouble than your in.


    MightyMouse
     
  10. UrkeytaY

    OP UrkeytaY GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Country:
    United States
    Damnit!

    Changed the settings all to USA, NTSC.

    now all the menus are in english, but I now get to deal with a semi-brick. Can't access the settings menu, and now it wont load my NTSC Zelda.

    awesome!
     
  11. MightyMouse

    MightyMouse GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Country:
    you obviously didnt know how to use AnyRegionChanger properly because you didnt reinstall your menu to 3.2U after you changed and saved your new settings.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - advice,