Need a lil Hard Drive help

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bat420maN, Sep 30, 2010.

Sep 30, 2010

Need a lil Hard Drive help by Bat420maN at 9:27 AM (852 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Bat420maN
    OP

    Member Bat420maN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Fresno
    Country:
    United States
    I have a Seagate 1.5TB HD, and a 4.3 Wii. If I fire up the Wii with the HD plugged in it just wont load in the HBC. If I pull the power cable on the HD the HBC will pick it up once I plug it back in. This has to be an issue with the HD itself due to the fact that all of my 1TB HD's are working just fine. I even threw an app folder onto a 2TB I have and it loaded up just fine. Anyone have any ideas to stop me from having to pull the power cord every time I want to play?
     
  2. fvnfish

    Member fvnfish GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    United States
    Happens to me every time, the problem has progressed ever since I stopped using my Wii. I just got back into it and now it takes forever for me to get Wiiflow to work. I know this doesn't help but I am now searching for the same answer you are. Btw I am using a FreeAgent 500gb.
     
  3. Bat420maN
    OP

    Member Bat420maN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Fresno
    Country:
    United States
    I just noticed that if I unplug the cable from the Wii the light on the HD stays on. Every other HD I have once I pull it from the wii will go off. The light on the problem HD also stays on when I shut the Wii down fully(red light). This has to be this HD, does anyone here have any idea how to fix this? Or do I just need to return this one and try another? In case it matters my HBC is .8 and running on IOS58 but, I am doubting that is the issue at all.
     
  4. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    What usb loader are you using?
    how is your drive formatted? FAT32? WBFS? NTFS? Partitions?
    I have NO problems with any of my drives, I use Configurable USB loader, either from the HBC, or also as a channel. My drives are formatted FAT32, also using Wii Backup Manager to transfer games from pc to WBFS folder on drives. also, cIOS 38 rev 19, some lower revs have problems usb loading.
     
  5. Bat420maN
    OP

    Member Bat420maN GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    Fresno
    Country:
    United States
    Config, and Wiiflow is what I have set up to run. Its one partition FAT32. The HBC wont even acknowledge the drive is there unless I unplug the power to it, and then it will work fine. It is almost as if the HD does not want to be loaded. I have to unplug the power on it to get it loaded. It's an issue with the HD itself, my Wii setup and HD format are perfect.
     
  6. thegreatwhitehop

    Newcomer thegreatwhitehop Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Same Problem here, and I have the same exact hard drive.
     

Share This Page