Need a few answers!

Discussion in 'Wii U - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by kongsnutz, Nov 24, 2012.

Nov 24, 2012

Need a few answers! by kongsnutz at 10:43 PM (707 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey guys can anyone with a wii u console check their box/console/manuel for the power input needed.

    I have imported a USA Wii U to Australia and need to know the Wattage required to use on a Step-Down converter.

    So I need....

    Input - Volts
    Input - Amps

    Please if anyone could that would be amazballs
     
  2. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    If you have an imported console, why not just look on the power brick itself?
     
  3. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    Not here yet man, trying to get it all ready so when it arrives on TUES.
     
  4. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry man. I would tell you, but I already sold the one that I had and I forgot to look at the specs. they should be available online somewhere.
     
  5. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    You'd think that but I have searched everywhere, even founf the console manuel pdf and it says nothing lol
     
  6. picano

    Member picano GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Country:
    United States
    120V ~ 16hz 1.1A
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    WTF?? That seems like odd specs. Can you please provide a pic?
     
  8. picano

    Member picano GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    So, I missed a capital H but that should be about it.
     
  9. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    60hz, thank you so much

    Recapp

    Console PSU = 120W (120v X 1.1A)
    Controller PSU =24W (120v X 200mA)

    So all i need is a 200w step down converter for here in Aus. (probably will get a 300w one anyway)
    Please correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  10. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    It has been ordered, yay, should work.

    I get the AUS console on Friday anyway but I want to use the USA one for imports and USA eShop.
     
  11. kp_centi

    Member kp_centi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    Just use the power brick from your AUS console. It should be the same, minus the power differences.
     
  12. kongsnutz
    OP

    Member kongsnutz QuickTimeEvent

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446
    Country:
    Australia
    They'll be used for different things in different rooms and I'd like a permanent setup... so I already bought the step down on ebay for 40 bucks, not bad.
    When they have been out for a while, I'll get spare AC adapters for the AUS machines then.
     
  13. creep

    Newcomer creep Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Is the ac adapter from the older wii the same as the wii u? can it be reused?
     
  14. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, you called it 16Hzwhen it is really 60Hz. Big difference.
     
  15. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    no there entirely different power bricks
    thats why the wii u power in is yellow and not black
     

Share This Page