NDS touch screen

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by wiimii, Aug 29, 2008.

Aug 29, 2008

NDS touch screen by wiimii at 12:41 PM (970 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. wiimii
    OP

    Member wiimii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.k
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok a few of you might have already read my PROBLEMbut i need to repost as i have a different problem, ive got one question........

    Can i replace the bottom lcd screen with the top one as the bottom one is a bit scratched i would like to put that one at the top of the system and apply a fresh new touch screen to the clean lcd screen?

    does anyone know how to do this because the top lcd has this stick foam border round it TOP LCD

    and the lower lcd dosent LOWER LCD

    If you look atthe top lcd it has like a sticky foam border where as the lower dosent so can i apply the touch screen directly over the top lcd or would i have to remove the border thing ?

    please help

    all i want to do is install this thing so i can get up and running with my supercard thankyou
     
  2. Mohammad

    Member Mohammad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    they're different screens, putting them somewhere else will ruin them. The connections are diffrent as one is a TOUCH SCREEN.
     
  3. wiimii
    OP

    Member wiimii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.k
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No , infact theyre not different screens at all , the only difference is that the lower lcd has a touch screen applied overthe top of it ......

    Proof
     
  4. gratefulbuddy

    Member gratefulbuddy amateur lunatic

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    802
    Location:
    on the wheel
    Country:
    United States
    You have a phat DS?
     
  5. wiimii
    OP

    Member wiimii GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    U.k
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im not quite sure if you know but its an original DS in question not the ds lite ,

    Both bottom and top lcd screens are identical apart form the factors i have pointed out ( sticky border thing round the top lcd )

    Thanks for your help so far

    Posts merged

    yha
     
  6. Mohammad

    Member Mohammad GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    United States
    then yes can switch them if they are the same device.
     
  7. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    I think top and bottom cannot be swiched for following reasons:
    top screen has wider cable, and i think cable cannot be swiched really, also it is longer for means that it is in top part, and also the top screen has mounts for the speakers, what are soldered in top screen mounts of the speakers (and the reason that top screen cable IS wider is for speakers)

    The swiching of top screen would mean disassembling screens and taking actual lcd part and swich, where i think you could just make things worse.

    the top and bottom screens are identical for display, but all other tech is different

    EDIT: this post is true for DS lite - sumimasen for lucky phat ds owner.
     

Share This Page