NDS Adaptor PLUS + 3DS Games

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by nekoakuma, Mar 15, 2011.

Mar 15, 2011

NDS Adaptor PLUS + 3DS Games by nekoakuma at 4:44 AM (27,373 Views / 0 Likes) 73 replies

  1. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    It seems I was able to backup my Ridge Racer Save Game using NDS Adaptor Plus, but I'm not sure if it works or if its even correct.


    It didn't identify the game name or flash rom, but it gave the eeprom as 8m bit.
    The save file I backed up came out to 1.0mb in size, and I was able to successfully* restore it.

    (Sucessfully as in my save data didn't corrupt or anything when I booted it back up.)


    Here's what I did:

    1. Backed up save from retail Cart.
    2. Played on retail cart (bought a few cars)
    3. Restored original save.

    --------------------------

    UPDATE:

    --edit
    it seems that the company has update the fw to 3.01 to try fix the issue of some games not being detected.
    I'm going to attempt to backup all my save games from the 3DS games and post them up.

    SFIV 3D - Backed-Up (.sav 128kb / eeprom 1M bit)
    Ridge Racer 3D - Backed-Up (.sav 1mb / eeprom 8M bit)
    Professor Layton; Mask of Miracles - Backed-Up (.sav 128kb / eeprom 1Mbit)

    None of the games showed a flashrom value though.



    http://filetrip.net/f24400-SFIV3D-Ridger-R...-Saves-1-0.html


    If anyone wants to look through the savs and see if you can make any sense out of it, it would be great.




    --

    Result: The file restored properly BUT the cars were still unlocked. It may have to do with the savedata on the SD-card also.
     


  2. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,752
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    Can you upload your save file?

    Anyways this could be very promising if we can easily rip and restore the save files on 3DS card.
     
  3. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, I can upload it.

    But there's no way I can check if it works because:

    1. No 3DS Emulators
    2. I'm not really sure what to look for.

    and as per the result I got, restoring the save didn't seem to restore it to its original state.

    edit; heres my sav.

    http://filetrip.net/f24370-Ridge-Racer-3D-...le-Rip-1-0.html

    edit; it seems theres a new fw update for the nds adaptor (v3.0) i'll update and try another backup)
     
  4. Sop

    Banned Sop groovy dude lmao

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    qld
    Country:
    Australia
    This could be promising for hacking.
    Also you live in Australia, how do you have 3DS?
     
  5. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia

    I was in Japan for a few months, so I bought it over there on release day.

    edit; i just updated mine adaptor to v3.0 (beta) which apparently adds support for 3DS games.

    I'm gonna try make another backup.


    edit2: it seems that v3 didn't detect the game, where was v2 did.

    http://img219.imageshack.us/i/26499920.jpg/

    http://img855.imageshack.us/i/37875917.jpg/
     
  6. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,752
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
  7. popoffka

    Member popoffka GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    Well, I don't think that what your sav contains is actually a savegame, because savegames are actually stored on the 3DS itself, not on cartridge. However, I guess this may still be somehow useful.
    Could you please try to somehow corrupt the file (for example, change some bits in a hex editor) and then upload it on your card? Will the game still work?
     
  8. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    1. I don't have the appropriate programs for that...
    2. Not really wanting to go that far yet. lol. (Seeing as the 3DS isn't in Australia yet..) maybe later on when I try some other things and/or finish the game.



    But about the 3ds saving, does it save to the console ? or does it use the SD-card?


    edit;
    Ridge Racer takes up 132 blocks on my SD-card, but the game works fine without it. .
     
  9. popoffka

    Member popoffka GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    @nekoakuma: I don't think that corrupting that part of cartridge will be dangerous as you can always use ndsadaptor to restore it to the original state.
     
  10. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia

    Oh yeah. lol.

    If you want, could you edit the .sav file and re-upload it? I'll try restore it.
     
  11. popoffka

    Member popoffka GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    Well, for example, you could try to restore this .sav: http://ge.tt/78eFkoM
    If the restore is successfull, please report whether your game boots after that or not.
     
  12. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright I just restored that sav. I'll try it out now.


    NDS AP fw v2.0 used to restore.
    - game boots fine.
    - save loads fine.
    - its still in the "bought-car state" (ie; i bought the cars AFTER backing up my my save.)


    So I guess it does save Data to the console?
    Either that OR the adaptor doesn't fully extract the save properly.
     
  13. popoffka

    Member popoffka GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Riga
    Country:
    Latvia
    So, even after restoring the sav I gave you, the game still works fine? That's quite strange, because I corrupted most of the data.
    Maybe that's just some compatibility-related data that gets ignored by the game.
     
  14. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah. it loaded fine. maybe it's like what you said, it's not actual save-data.
     
  15. TheNikkoMan

    Newcomer TheNikkoMan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=282...15&start=15
    The 4th last post on this thread concludes with the saves being stored on the cartridge.
    But I thought of something, what if the device was able to backup, but unable to restore it? Wouldn't that make sense, considering you were in a state you got to AFTER backing it up?
    Also, why don't you look for names inside the save file? Names, amount of money, something you know would be there if it was a successful dump.
     
  16. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    I thought it was confirmed that the 3DS saves to the console or SD. Im not sure where I saw it though. Check this
     
  17. Nebz

    Member Nebz The N00b

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    It is confirmed. I think they just may be interested in figuring out what data the tool is extracting if I'm reading correctly :wtf:
     
  18. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    No this is not a confirmation. And that webpage is over 2 weeks old.
    Read the post above yours.
     
  19. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    I can't offer any other information into what data it is extracting. I could try rip my other game save data (SFIV and Prof. Layton) and see if that might yield other results.

    I'll attempt that later on.


    --edit
    it seems that the company has update the fw to 3.01 to try fix the issue of some games not being detected.
    I'm going to attempt to backup all my save games from the 3DS games and post them up.

    SFIV 3D - Backed-Up (.sav 128kb / eeprom 1M bit)
    Ridge Racer 3D - Backed-Up (.sav 1mb / eeprom 8M bit)
    Professor Layton; Mask of Miracles - Backed-Up (.sav 128kb / eeprom 1Mbit)

    None of the games showed a flashrom value though.



    I'll ul to filetrip in a bit.


    Edit; FT link http://filetrip.net/f24400-SFIV3D-Ridger-R...-Saves-1-0.html


    If anyone wants to look through the savs and see if you can make any sense out of it, it would be great.
     
  20. nekoakuma
    OP

    Newcomer nekoakuma Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Australia
    updated first post with the new saves
     

Share This Page