Hacking NAND Restore Questions

SmashApe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
195
Country
Australia
Hi all,

When I first got my Switch I did a NAND backup and have been offline on CFW ever since. I now want to run OFW on SysNAND and CFW in EmuMMC.

A few questions;
  1. My clean NAND backup is on 5.0.0 and my live CFW is on 6.0.0 (fuses burned) and 9.0.0 with ChoiDujourNX. Will restoring a 5.0.0 NAND with 6.0.0 fuses burned on the Switch cause any issues?
  2. I'm assuming if I want to play Fortnite online that I'll need the latest firmware on SysNAND, and I assume fuses must be burned to do that?
  3. Can I restore my current CFW into EmuMMC so I don't lose all of my settings, saves etc?
Sorry for all the questions, I just didn't want to balls this up and brick my unit.

I really appreciate any help.

Cheers, SA
 

Budsixz

Gbatemp Gamemer
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
466
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,848
Country
India
1. Since your fuses are burnt downgrading means that you will have to keep AUTORCM ON always. Else you wont be able to boot.
2. Yes you Sysnand has to be on latest fw to play online. you can boot normally in your sysnand at 9.0 only. If it is on lower fw then only will you need autorcm.
3. Yes restoring the mmc means everything will revert to how it was including save files, games, etc. EVEN THE ONES IN MEMORY CARD.
 
Last edited by Budsixz,

F4mouZSt4r

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 29, 2018
Messages
76
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
957
Country
Germany
1. If you downgrade back to 5.X you need to use autoRCM or update back to 9.X, this way you can disable autoRCM
2. Yes you need to be on the latest FW
3. You can backup the Saves with Checkpoint and migrate the emuNAND from the NAND, means you only need to reinstall the games, the Save could be still there but if not, you can restore them with Checkpoint
 

Budsixz

Gbatemp Gamemer
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
466
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,848
Country
India
You mean I won't be able to manually boot (with a jig) into RCM?
If you come from a higher fw to lower fw (with fuses burnt) then you wont be able to normally boot up your switch unless it is in autorcm. It gets stuck in bootloop or kernel panic is what they say (maybe putting it rcm manually everytime would work too but better ask someone)
 

SmashApe

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 25, 2019
Messages
22
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
195
Country
Australia
If you come from a higher fw to lower fw (with fuses burnt) then you wont be able to normally boot up your switch unless it is in autorcm. It gets stuck in bootloop or kernel panic is what they say (maybe putting it rcm manually everytime would work too but better ask someone)

Well I only want to manually RCM once and then I'll update it to the latest OFW (I don't care about burning the fuses). So as long as I can manually RCM once. I think there is a concern with hackers that Nintendo can detect Autorcm.
 

Budsixz

Gbatemp Gamemer
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
466
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,848
Country
India
Well I only want to manually RCM once and then I'll update it to the latest OFW (I don't care about burning the fuses). So as long as I can manually RCM once. I think there is a concern with hackers that Nintendo can detect Autorcm.
What i did for my downgrade was -
1. Take full backup of saves (and nand +boot0&1 just incase)
2. Restore my old clean 6.1 nand (was on 7.0.1) and turned on autorcm
3. Update to 8.1 via official method (this will automatically turn off autorcm)
4. used cfw later
 
Last edited by Budsixz,
  • Like
Reactions: SmashApe

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
47
XP
4,636
Country
United States
So much misinformation here. No you dont need autoRCM if you downgrade. You're correct in assuming you can use your jig. With a fuse mismatch you just have to use a custom bootloader. Read the PSA in my sig.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SmashApe

Budsixz

Gbatemp Gamemer
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2018
Messages
466
Trophies
1
Age
30
XP
1,848
Country
India
So much misinformation here. No you dont need autoRCM if you downgrade. You're correct in assuming you can use your jig. With a fuse mismatch you just have to use a custom bootloader. Read the PSA in my sig.
what part of it is wrong? except maybe the autorcm which i already said I wasnt sure of but i knew we cant boot normally after downgrade
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Taco bell is authentic Mexican food what are you talking about