My USB hdd doesn't work?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Man Ik Weet, Dec 27, 2011.

Dec 27, 2011

My USB hdd doesn't work? by Man Ik Weet at 10:03 PM (1,483 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey guys,

    I recently got a new HDD (Well, media player actually) and wanted to use it to load backup games too...
    When I launch USB Loader GX it does detect the HDD but it doesn't seem to be able to load it.

    The HDD is the following (as seen by Device Manager):
    SAMSUNG HD502HI USB Device

    Are there any suggestions or am I just out of luck?
     


  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,556
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Do you have latest USB Loader GX and latest cIOS installed?
     
  3. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    EDIT: see below... (yes a bump, sorry)
     
  4. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I installed the latest cIOS and the same problem still occurs:
    It initializes USB device, takes long time
    It says "Waiting for USB HDD -41s" which doesn't count down
    It says "No drive found"

    any suggestions?
     
  5. Infinite_zero

    Newcomer Infinite_zero Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I know this may be a very stupid question but, have you tried both USB ports on the Wii?
     
  6. Memoir

    Member Memoir Undeserved

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,950
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Country:
    United States
    It may not be compatible. I have the same problem. :( I just recently got my Wii back from my brother and was looking to set up my exHDD to use with it. Well, it wouldn't show up in any USB Loader and the emulators wouldn't read it. I had a dual FAT32/NTFS setup.. So I figured that might be the problem. Went through a whole slew of formatting and stuff only to find out that mine was not compatible. There's a list here, actually.
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/USB_Devices_Compatibility_List

    I don't know if yours will be on there.. However, chances are that if I'm having the same problem? That like mine, yours is not compatible.
     
  7. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I guess, I got another HDD now which is in a USB housing, also doesn't work...
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,556
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    You still havent answered which cIOS and which version...
     
  9. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I used d2x cIOSs V7...
    What else?
     
  10. rip-it-up

    Member rip-it-up GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it in the correct usb port (the one near the edge)
    have you tried plugging the usb cable in the wii after you loader the loader?
     
  11. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes and yes.
    Please do note that I can launch games from usb-sticks
     
  12. Kittymat

    Member Kittymat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    589
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt that the media player hard drive will ever work.

    However on the other hard drive try starting your chosen loader on a hermes based cios, usually 222 as it does have different compatibility
     
  13. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I will try that, does it matter if it's NTFS/fat32?
    Would fat32 be recognised easier?
     
  14. Mr. Prince

    Member Mr. Prince GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    534
    Location:
    All Blue
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    Have you tried formatting it to WBFS?
     
  15. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not yet, but I will now.
    cIOS 222 DOES detect the HDD but it does not find the fat32 partition, will try WBFS.
     
  16. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,556
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Bad idea but well. The best thing to do is FAT32 with 32kb cluster size using easeus partition manager.
     
  17. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,556
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    That formats to FAT32 sure, but don't repair the partition table which is my guess what's broken.
     
  18. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Or Fat32 GUI Formatter which is (was?) Bundled with ModMii, Just a press of a button :P
     
  19. Man Ik Weet
    OP

    Newcomer Man Ik Weet Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Okay, so I managed to load the HDD with the WBFS partition, however it was VERY slow and I couldn't load the game itself, so basically only the name.
    I do know that WBFS is a very unstable partition so I will go and try NTFS now and then if that does not work I will retry fat32, with the 32kb cluster
     
  20. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden

    Hm, perhaps... Ive only used it once to format my 16GB USB stick (ntfs -> fat32) so I dunno. I just know it was pisseasy and fast to use :P


    Edit:


    Not sure what you mean by that, but WBFS isnt any more unstable than any other filesystem.
     

Share This Page