My PS2s hate me.....

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by EnigmaXtreme, Mar 1, 2013.

Mar 1, 2013

My PS2s hate me..... by EnigmaXtreme at 12:41 AM (722 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Last year I went and bought a second hand V7 PS2 and got a Modbo 4.0 installed so I could play backups without swapping or patching or whatever and it has become one of the most frustrating situations I've had to deal with any console whatsoever.

    Everything was working fine until I tried to play backups of the Resident Evil series and discovered none of the backups work, NONE! Not 1, 2, 3, Directors Cut or anything, I tried numerous versions even bought a CD Burner to burn at a slower speed and nothing, all I ever got was a black screen. Then I noticed that a backup of Silent Hill 2 would only work half the time and then stop working all together. Silent Hill 1, 3 and 4 would all work easily but I couldn't get this game to start past the PS2 logo.

    So a local console modder and repairer informed me that it may be the lens, so I went and bought a PS2 lens off eBay (yeah yeah I know) and got it installed hoping it would fix the issue, if anything it just made it worse discs would take forever to start up when turning on the console. So now I'm getting the old lens put back in.

    I then decided to buy a new PS2, it was a V9 and handed it to the modder to take my Modbo out of my V7 and pop into the V9, after he managed to find a solder pin small enough for it I get a message a day or two later saying he can't get it to work and that all he gets is a black screen, no boot screen whatsoever, Yet it still worked in the V7.

    So right now I'm waiting for him to put the Modbo back in the V7 who is just as frustrated as I am.

    So here I am, at the end of my rope, looking for some answers......
     
  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're not asking any questions?
     
  3. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Why is my V7 with a Modbo 4.0 not reading certain games

    Why did the Modbo not work when it was swapped into a V9
     
  4. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the only thing I can tell you is to stay away from modchip. It could be that Modbo 4.0 you have is faulty. Or it could be that you are using crappy DVDs (these days even Verbatim is not recommended).

    Anyway, what you should be doing is getting Free Mcboot and use ESR to run disc backup. You do need to patch ISO before burning them but it only takes 5 seconds for patching. 10 seconds if you are burning dual layer disc.

    You can also run USB backup using OPL/PS2ESDL or SMB backup using OPL. Neither needs ISO patching if you cannot allocate 5 seconds.
     
  5. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    All the games you just mentioned work fine over SMB (the PS2 ones, that is).

    Problem Solved.
     
  6. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well the Modbo was working fine in the original PS2 and I was using Imation DVDs which I've been told are the best quality, plus all my other backups worked fine expect for these games
     
  7. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Resident Evil 1, 2 and 3 are ps1 games. Keep in mind that depending on the modchip you're using, you may have to hold some button in the console or the controller so it can run ps1 games. In newer modchips however, it should play ps1 games automatically.

    The ps2 isn't exactly the best console to play ps1 games, ps1 games can get very laggy in a ps2 for some reason and there are some annoying graphical glitches when playing ps1 games.
     
  8. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Imation is one of those not so good brand. They work fine with PC burner, but not so good with weaker driver used in consoles.

    Anyway, I highly advise you to drop the idea of modchip.
     
  9. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I had no problem playing other PS1 games, including the MMLegend games and Dino Crisis
     
    RodrigoDavy likes this.
  10. nukeboy95

    Member nukeboy95 Leave luck to heaven.

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    not sure
    Country:
    United States
    my ps2 hated me

    soo i destroyed it true story
     
  11. RodrigoDavy

    Member RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    In that case, odds are you used a bad quality medium for burning the Resident Evil games or maybe you didn't burn them properly. That said I had problems with playing Resident Evil games even in my original PS1... They are exactly those kind of games that force the lens of the console and thus need to be in a very good state so they can be properly read.
     
  12. EnigmaXtreme
    OP

    Member EnigmaXtreme GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well I'm getting the modchip put back in anyway
     

Share This Page