My M3i Zero Review :)

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by kobykaan, Jul 27, 2009.

Jul 27, 2009

My M3i Zero Review :) by kobykaan at 9:21 PM (11,726 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. kobykaan
    OP

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes there's a couple of reviews already but here is mine .....


    ....Ok so my M3 ZERO review card arrived today!!!.....

    Here's My own review ...

    note:- (LOTS OF IMAGES to follow so dial up users BEWARE may take some time loading!!!)

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. Saturnplanet5

    Member Saturnplanet5 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Australia
    I didn't think you had to setup Sakura. I thought you just chose it at first boot.
     
  3. kobykaan
    OP

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If You download the FULL DSM encoder Pack ( its a bit like BATCH DPG interface) ...but also as well as being able to encode to DSM movie files it has an inbuilt installer to install the system files straight to your card ..once you have the SYSTEM files on your mem card when you boot it up in the M3 REAL or M3i Zero card then you can select SAKURA or TOUCH POD loaders as its a now a DUAL boot loader ...this is from about version 1.33 Upwards [​IMG]
     
  4. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    i never used a m3 b4 and 1 question
    cant u jusrt download sakura and put it in the card and then play games or u have to do all that

    1 more question
    where do u get that dsm movie encoder
     
  5. kobykaan
    OP

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    You Can download the Sakura System files just as a folder full of files called System if someone shares just that folder ...But ... this is how M3 team are now bundling Sakura/Touchpod combined loader with the DSM tools as the installer [​IMG]

    DSM tools comes as part of the pack of M3Sakura System and PC tools or files of the 1.40 Sakura installer that's on the handheld sources website mentioned and linked to in my review [​IMG]

    note also mentioned that the main loader/kernel files of M3 REAL and M3i ZERO are the same you can take out your premade card of files and loaders from your M3 REAL and use them straight in the M3i ZERO card (I've done exactly that with my M3 REAL 8gb card after I did the review [​IMG]
     
  6. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    so i can use a m3 firmware instaed of sakura
    ( download the firmware from m3 site )
     
  7. kobykaan
    OP

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Its a DUAL loader you can switch between Sakura and Touchpod you just choose one to use to begin with!......... From then on if you need to switch loaders just turn on your ds and hold down the (A) button it will bring up the selection menu that gives you the choice of which one to boot into.....Once chosen it will stick with that loader until you decide to turn it on again with the (A) button held down [​IMG]
     
  8. NeSchn

    Member NeSchn GBAPimpdaddy.

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,533
    Location:
    Troy,New York PimpStatus: King
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sexy review Mr. Kaan.
     
  9. Buchichu

    Newcomer Buchichu Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Canada
    I've got a few questions about the M3zero i I'm reposting here at the suggestion of other users, since I haven't gotten an answer looking through your (very well-written) review. Hopefully someone here can help.

    1. In Touchpod, I can't figure out how to bring up each games menu. From what I've read in manuals and searching for help, hitting "A" on the game should bring up a menu with options - such as the cheat option. However when I do this on the most recent firmware from their site, the game just starts. "Y" just asks if I want to load a GBA game. No menu at all. So now I can't figure out how to even activate the cheats for any given game.

    2. Also in Touchpod, in my games folder, I see all the files; .nds and .sav files. This is frustrating because I have to sift through all the .sav files to find the actual games. On my R4 which I used with my DSl, the folder only displayed the .nds files. Is there any way to make the .sav files invisible? They seem to have to be all in the same folder for the saves to be recognised.

    3. I'm trying to get Sakura (v 1.40) to work which may solve some of the issues I'm having with Touchpod above. Again, I just downloaded the most recent version and when I chose to use it, it sits stuck on the loading screen. I've looked but can't figure out where the issue or conflict is...any ideas?
     
  10. kobykaan
    OP

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    ok sorry for the delay in response but here goes

    there is a massive thread here of FAQ for the M3 REAL including a detailed rundown of features/options etc [​IMG]

    the latest version of sakura is 1.41 and is featured in the M3 section and available from the handheld sources website [​IMG]

    re: hiding other files In Sakura to hide save files/unsupported files just press START in your folder of games to bring up the system menu ..Scroll down to GUI settings and press A then check the box in the menu that comes up to HIDE UNSUPPORTED FILES and also check the box to Hide File name Extensions you will now see only your game files and no NDS extension [​IMG]


    In TouchPod to hide save files all games and saves MUST be in a folder called NDS and then it will hide them [​IMG]

    To load the games in TouchPod that are now stored in the NDS folder just click on the old style GBA console icon [​IMG] on the far left of the menu this will bring up all your NDS files without their respective saves [​IMG]

    If your having trouble with Sakura loading I suggest backup all your games and saves and media etc that are not part of the system folder etc and reformat your mem card and start over [​IMG]

    best method of installation is to download the full installer ...most recent release on handheldsources website is

    M3Sakura System and PC tools(23-08-2009)


    Download and install this and use it to install/copy your files over to your micro sd (refer to my guide in my review how to do this) and then check see if it works [​IMG]
     
  11. xenon2000

    Newcomer xenon2000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    One thing you missed in your review of the iZero. Which you might not have thought to mention if you haven't used the DS Real or DS Simply. I just got the iZero and now I wish I didn't. I use a DS Lite and the DS Simply and Real load straight into the Boot loader menu, iSakura or whatever else you try to use.

    But the iZero does not. It loads the Nintendo start screen, have to touch screen or press A, and then you have to choose Slot 1 to load your boot loader! Very annoying coming from automatic slot 1 booting with the DS Real and DS Simply. I wish M3 Adapter would have mentioned this difference, I wish reviews would have mentioned this, I wish it was mentioned anywhere!

    Maybe I am missing something. But I doubt it. I can take the same micro SDHC card with iSakura 1.45 and use it in the Real or the iZero and it auto boots in the Real and does not in the iZero. Lame. I have to see if RealHotStuff will let me exchange it. Even at my expense for shipping. Arg.
     
  12. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    BIG DEAL!!! Two more button presses! Why are you making such a fuss over no autoboot. Besides, your MicroSDHC card problem is unrelated to the MicroSD. It's the bootloader on the card itself that autoboots. The Zero doesn't autoboot because it's a DSi cart [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  13. xenon2000

    Newcomer xenon2000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, but the iZero listed by M3 as a DS, DS Lite, and DSi cart. Not just a DSi cart. If it said just DSi, I would not have bought it. If they mentioned, or if anyone mentioned that it didn't do autoboot, I would have saved the $10 and just gotten a 2nd DS Real to replace my DS Simply on my 2nd DS Lite. If I had a DSi and this was the only option, then I wouldn't be complaining about no autoboot. But I don't have and don't plan on buying a DSi ever since I have 2 DS Lites that work fine. And so I thought I would buy the DS iZero because it was the latest and had a firmware upgrade option for the future. But I would have just saved myself $10 and kept autoboot on the 2nd DS Lite if ANYONE had mentioned this significant difference that has been around since the DS Simply. Sorry if you like no autoboot. But it's a feature that I wouldn't mind saving $10 to have that feature back.
     
  14. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    thats because the boot loader on the real is different

    I think no DSi card auto boots (judging by everyone bitching and moaning about boot icons from various cards) I dont even have a DSi so have no idea
     
  15. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    that doesnt really make it annoying, it makes it easier for tyou..if u think about it, on other cards u would have to take the card out if u wanted to ds download play or picto chat..with this feature u dont have to do that, u could just keep your card in and select it whenever you want
     
  16. xenon2000

    Newcomer xenon2000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    True, but with the less than 1% of picto chat and download play, I would rather eject the card. Everyone calls this a DSi cart. But I thought that since it was being called a DS, DS Lite and DSi cart, that it was all three. And not specifically a DSi cart with the ability to work on the DS Lite. I have never used a DSi and I don't plan to. But this is a significant difference that should be noted on the M3 Adapter site as well as reseller sites. Because it's an obvious difference from the DS Simply and Real.

    At this point, I don't see how the iZero does anything for me that the Real couldn't do on my DS Lite. I was trying to try something new, but I see that with the DS Lite, there is no reason to use the Zero. So if RealHotStuff won't exchange it, I will just sell it on Craigslist and buy a 2nd DS Real.

    Just thought I would post here in case others wanted more info that I did not find before my purchase. And also to see if there was some tweak to change it. Since this card as the ability to flash different firmwares, it seems like they should have a DSi, DS, DSL firmware and a DS/DS Lite only firmware. That way DS Lite users can have autoboot when not used in a DSi. Seems like the perfect excuse for flashing firmware.

    Anyway. I am glad DSi users have a good cart to use and I love my DS Simply and DS Real. But I see no reason to have spent $10 extra to lose autoboot when that is what I like 99.99% of the time. Thanks for confirming that this behavior is by design and unchangeable.

    Anyone in Phoenix, AZ want to buy a new iZero locally? [​IMG]
     
  17. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,183
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    there is no reason

    if you read any of the various reviews
    its the same exact thing as the m3 real except works on DSi and can have a new kernel installed

    nothing else
     
  18. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada

    well, i guess ur right
     
  19. xenon2000

    Newcomer xenon2000 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I did read the reviews before buying. And I thought the option to use it on a DSi and the kernel updating sounded worth the $10 more. But no one even mentioned that autoboot would be lost. I am not trying to win a debate. There is no debate. I just wish I knew about this significant difference so I would have just saved the $10 and bought a 2nd Real. So now I know and hopefully others see this info and know the difference to be informed. I have been using these carts since the G6 before the DS Simply. So it's not like I am new at this. Just want to know the facts. Thanks.
     
  20. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    But what is the big deal about having to press the A button two more times?!?!? The company will probably make you pay for return shipping so it probably isn't worth returning it. Also, in a previous post you called the M3i a "DSi cart with the ability to work on a DS lite". Actually, it's the other way around.
     

Share This Page