Multibooting Apps program?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by topgunroofm, Aug 13, 2009.

Aug 13, 2009
  1. topgunroofm
    OP

    Member topgunroofm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Halo
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to multiboot apps on the DS Lite, instead of running an app then shutting down then boot another?

    Please help!!!
     
  2. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You mean, a way to go back to the menu? Multibooting would refer to having a choice when you turn on as to what you run. I think you want a way to exit the homebrew/ROM you're running and select another, correct? If so, this is only possible if you have a card which supports soft reset. Not all do, and R4 does not, so you're out of luck. You'll have to turn off and restart everytime you want to run something else.
     
  3. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    R4 does have Soft Reset...
     
  4. wolfmanz51

    Member wolfmanz51 MrNintendosense

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    427
    Location:
    Somewhere in cali
    Country:
    United States
    no you can only run one app at a time there is no multitasking but moonshell 2 can play music and view photos or read books at the same time
     
  5. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    good job answering a completely different question to the guy asked.

    Does R4 have soft reset? Huh, I thought that feature was only in newer cards, my bad.
     
  6. topgunroofm
    OP

    Member topgunroofm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Halo
    Country:
    United States
    I mean, can i run an app, close it, then run another, without shuting down the ds. I canĀ“t soft reset while running an app.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    You can soft-reset while in most commercial games, but not from most homebrew apps. It's something that never really took off in the homebrew world, especially since the reset routines are different for each homebrew device.
     
  8. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, there is no other way. Soft reset is supposed to work with a couple of homebrew but I dont know what.
     

Share This Page