MTP Driver Installation Problem (GS3)

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones and Media Players' started by Joe88, Aug 10, 2012.

Aug 10, 2012
  1. Joe88
    OP

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I cant browse my S3's files from my computer because every time I hook it I get a message that the MTP driver failed to install
    I tried samsungs official drivers for this phone on their site, nothing
    the driver included with the kies software, also the same result

    I am running win 7 32 bit
    I tried every USB port on the computer, 4 different usb cables, rebooting the phone and computer
    and nothing has worked, anybody know what it wrong?

    my A500 works fine with MTP and a galaxy nexus also worked with mtp with no problems so not sure why this is a problem
     
  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When you plug the S3 into the computer, do you set the device to flash drive mode?

    By default, I don't think android mounts it's storage (flash or mSD) until you tell it to.

    ...I'll edit next time I plug my phone into my PC to detail exactly what it does by default, and how to get it working.
     
  3. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Android 4 auto mounts it. It uses MTP storage so that the app storage and normal storage can be unified.
     
  4. Joe88
    OP

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I solved it a like a day after I posted this but never posted back
    the drivers that samsung issued are what caused it, uninstalling the drivers and letting windows use install it works (although some stuff like usb modem drivers wont work but im not concerned by that) I can access the file system now
     

Share This Page