Moving saves between different Wii's

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by the_stag, Feb 17, 2016.

1. the_stag
    OP

the_stag Newbie

Newcomer
    Feb 17, 2016
    United States
    Admitted noob here, although I do PC tech support for a living, I'm no professional at this. I've scanned the forums but have been unsuccessful in finding a solution for my problem, so if there is one out there, I'll take my humility medicine.

I've got 2 Wii's, one is far away at my in-laws house. I've modded them both to use USB Loader GX, although they're not quite the same since the first one I did a couple of years ago and it was a "learning" experience. The second one I did a couple of months ago, and I had some better notes to streamline the process. Before leaving my house, I did an "Extract Save to EmuNand" of Xenoblade Chronicles to my SD card. I then copied that save to my laptop, once I got there, I copied the whole sd:/nand/ to the sd card on other Wii. I changed the setting on XC to "Nand Emulation: Partial" and everything worked the way it was supposed to: I saw my saved games, loaded, saved, continued, etc. with no problems. So when it came time to leave, I did 2 things, first I copied sd:/nand/ to my laptop again and called it pre-extract. Then I did an "Extract Save to EmuNand", and copied that to my laptop and called it post-extract since I wasn't sure what the system was doing with my data and I didn't want to risk losing anything (about 10 hours of progress).