Mounting GBA games to work on DSi

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Van_Xan, Jan 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Jan 18, 2010
  1. Van_Xan
    OP

    Newcomer Van_Xan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    from my bed
    Country:
    United States
    Ok my idea is to make a program that will mount a GBA game to a virtual Slot-2, kinda like how GBA Exploader would mount it to a real Slot-2. I just want to see if its possible to do.
     


  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, the flash card needs built in ram to support GBA roms
    So cards like iPlayer and the upcoming Supercards 2.
    But I don't think what you suggest is possible.
     
  3. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Why does this guy sound like Saphiresurf?
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Maybe it is him o.o
     
  5. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe it's The Worst [​IMG]
     
  6. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The worst?
     
  7. Van_Xan
    OP

    Newcomer Van_Xan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    from my bed
    Country:
    United States
    Or mabye its not [​IMG]. Any way would it be possible to make a program to take a extra 10mb from the microSD card to make virtual ram(I have a Acekard 2i, and a DSi and want to play GBA games, thats way I'm asking this)?
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    So... much... fail...

    There have been literally hundreds of topics on this before.

    GBA mode probably doesn't even still exist on the DSi. Even if it did, you'd have to find a place fast enough to store the GBA rom to prevent it from freezing. Virtual RAM isn't an option because the DS doesn't have an MMU (memory management unit) to handle it, plus the fact that virtual RAM is really not recommended for flash-based devices since it would wear down the card too quickly.

    The only option is software emulation, which the DSi alone doesn't really have the horsepower to do. The iPlayer can do it since it's got components multiple times stronger than the DSi, but your Acekard 2i won't cut it.
     
  9. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    The Worst


    A member that kept coming back, and back, and back, and back, and back, and back, and back.
     
  10. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ohhh, maybe o.o
     
  11. Inunah

    Banned Inunah The Female Mistaken for a Male.

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, and then we can make a DS cart with a GBA slot attached, so GBA carts can be played on a DSi. [​IMG]
     
  12. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
  13. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Wasn't DarkFader the guy that made the Ds bricker?
     
  14. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah. but this was long before he made brickers..
     
  15. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but iirc he was one of the first to build a passme device, and was the first one to run homebrew on the ds. Not to mention the other countless systems he has coded for.
     
  16. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    that emu's by darkchen, not darkfader. it's a beta of nds-gba that's he's been working on to try make it support normal ds carts...
     
  17. Magmorph

    Member Magmorph GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    How well does it work?
     
  18. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    meh, only tried golden sun and log 2 as of now, log is laggy but playable, golden sun id just being buttraped by lag though :
     
  19. fgghjjkll

    Member fgghjjkll GBATemp MegaMan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,038
    Country:
    Australia
    No. this one is by darkfader. not darkchen.
     
  20. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT- Excuse this post please. Delete it if you like. Found my answer. [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page