Modded modems? Since when was this possible?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by JJBro1, Jan 25, 2009.

Jan 25, 2009
  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
  2. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've heard people can get modded modems for Virgin Media, which is in the UK to speed the internet up. But it is illegal and immoral.
     
  3. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    It's called uncapping, and it's been around for a long time. It's detectable to the cable company. Even if he spoofed the MAC address, which the article says he did, it's easily detectable when the cable company realizes that more than one MAC address is on their line.
     
  4. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    I'm normaly all for things like this but when you uncap your modem you bog down everyone in your area.
     
  5. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dammit! why can't I live in a cabled area!
     

Share This Page