Mobile Device Management

ResleyZ

Swiggity swaggity swooty, I love my own booty
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Netherlands
So, I need some specific help regarding mobile device management.

I'm currently a trainee at a IT company. As a project they asked if I could set up something for Mobile Device Management. Basically they want to assist their customers with their mobile devices (tablets, phones, etc.)

Now I'm wondering if any of you guys have any experience in mobile device management. Maybe suggest some software packets to use.

Thanks for the help!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
"they want to assist their customers with their mobile devices"
Do you mean your company's customers have mobile devices that need sorting or that the company wants their staff to be able to sit in the lobby/at the cafe/at home without a work laptop and be able to do some work?

For the record "mobile device management" typically means you want to allow people to do work on their tablet computers (see also bring your own device*) but do not want a)your corporate network to be compromised when their kids (or them) try to install a bunch of malware laced cracked applications and b)so IT does not have to spend an hour installing stuff when you get a new employee or the current ones sit on their tablet or drop the phone down the toilet. To this end you need the mobile equivalent of group policy objects/active directory for windows.

*is this company provided gear or something the employee has provided for the purpose, or both I guess? Also if these things are phones are you going to forward numbers to them because it is kind of hard to handle a phone call and fiddle with something else at the same time.