Missing Games from list

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by the_rhino_uk, Dec 17, 2008.

Dec 17, 2008

Missing Games from list by the_rhino_uk at 10:11 AM (1,383 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. the_rhino_uk
    OP

    Newcomer the_rhino_uk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Something odd is going on with my CycloDS. I have a Kingston 8GB Micro SDHC card and a DS Games directory where I have been putting all my DS games and I have only really just started to fill it right up.

    Anyway I started to notice the other day that some of my ROM's are not appearing on my games list which I found odd. I thought at first that the ROM's where buggered until today I noticed when I renamed some roms (so I knew what they where) that games I know used to appear on the list no longer do.

    For example I was playing professor layton but I renamed it today and it doesn't appear anymore.

    SO I am starting to think that either I need to split my games into different directorys as the CycloDS can't support a huge list of games OR there is something in the naming that is causing them not appearing.

    Has anyone got any thoughts / advise on this?
     
  2. the_rhino_uk
    OP

    Newcomer the_rhino_uk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, just split all my games into 4 different directory's and everything is appearing so I guess the CycloDS can't handle having loads of ROM in one directory!! [​IMG]
     
  3. TraumaHoundNDS

    Member TraumaHoundNDS GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I just recently found this out when a friend filled up his 16GB card. Said the Cyclo won't show more than 127 files in a folder so he had to split them up into multiple folders.

    I've got an 8GB card that's only about half-full and I still only play the same 3 or 4 games. Clearly I'm not using my Cyclo to it's full potential. [​IMG]
     
  4. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NO MEMORY CARD can use more than 127 files in the ROOT FOLDER without issues! ..... its a flaw with the cards root directory not the CYCLO or any other DS CARD [​IMG]


    as above split them into several directory's or categorize them to genres [​IMG]
     
  5. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    What amazes me is how you managed to put 127 ROMs in your MicroSD without feeling the need to organize a bit.
     
  6. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,810
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Orga...what? [​IMG]
     
  7. Isaiah

    Member Isaiah The Conductor

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Country:
    Australia
    hmm i had this same thing with my r4 lol my files just disapered
     
  8. justmike

    Member justmike GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    Australia
    I had the same problem too, 127 is the max. I need to organise... I do it via ROM number.

    Folder:

    1 - 1000
    1001 - 2000
    2001 - 3000

    Sometimes it's hard to find the game, but I like knowing the ROM number... I guess I can always change the menu look.
     
  9. the_rhino_uk
    OP

    Newcomer the_rhino_uk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I just had a DS Games folder and added a few in there when I first started out. And then I got greedy and chucked loads in (you know, for a rainy day)!

    It wasn't until I copied on a game I wanted to play when I couldn't find it in my list so I just thought the ROM was knackered.

    Not to worry, I have now 6 folders and the games organised into them.

    Just gotta try and sort out my GBA save game problems and I will be happy!
     
  10. Pedobear

    Banned Pedobear Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    alright, good luck then.
    mods close?
     
  11. virtualbeta

    Newcomer virtualbeta Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I had same issue with cycloDS not an issue with my R4HC or EZ 5P. It is also hard to detect on cyclo since it does not show a file count in the dir. My games are in a folder called NDSGame off the root dir.
     

Share This Page