Minecraft

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by iFish, Jul 29, 2010.

Jul 29, 2010

Minecraft by iFish at 10:45 PM (3,310 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Heya tempers.

    I need to know something. am i outta luck?

    i keep getting this error?

    [​IMG]

    _Chaz_ said i should update my graphics driver.

    But i did. and i'm fully up to date,.

    i have a

    Mobile Intel 965 Express Chipset Family Video Driver

    So... what should i do? how can i get it to run?
     


  2. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    is java up to date?
     
  3. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Just tested that. yes. it is
     
  4. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    I see you are not at least using the official offline client, nor that is inside browser...

    Just saying; all illegal clients to play infdev without paid account have been broken for some time...

    Other than that (I am sorry If I am accusing for you nothing) it may be that you actually need a better GPU, one that has full OpenGL support (Minecraft runs actually on OpenGL layer inside Java... and also Up to date java)
     
  5. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I did pirate it [​IMG]

    But... since i'm using a free account.... that's why?

    I have a shitty GPU. it's an integrated one. but portal runs. i would think portal is more demanding :/
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    This seems like the most likely reason.
    Buy a new GFX card. The one you have now is beyond shitty.
     
  7. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm on a laptop. so i cannot realy replace the Graphics card [​IMG]
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,144
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can get ExpressCard GPUs.... but never mind. It sounds like you're using a laptop from the PCMCIA era, not the ExpressCard era (since most GPUs, no matter how crappy, have had OpenGL 2.0 support for many years).
     
  9. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    I got the PC in 2008 :/

    It's running windows 7
     
  10. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I will try this game, looks really cool. My computer is kick ass, should be fine.

    Edit: Your drivers are up to date?

    Edit again : Really shitty, my bad.
     
  11. Sumea

    Member Sumea Disco Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    Turku
    Country:
    Finland
    MM, true that portal runs, but it plays on DirectX and not on OpenGL...

    Still - I do not say go out and buy the game, but try to get some way to try the original version. I know the big hammer of updates every week really hammered the pirates down what I know of. almost none of those clients work.

    I have legal account but am not very fond sharing that around, if you get me. There is shared accounts around... I'd say test with one of those and buy the graceful amazing game Minecraft simply is.
     
  12. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Well.. i tested the free version. classic i think. and that gave me the same error. so i'm sure it's not because of piracy [​IMG]
    Well... whatever. it's just a game. not worth pulling teeth over.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  13. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The problem is that the latest version of JAVA and the previous version is the name change from SUN to Oracle. The issue is related to some functions in JAVA looks for the name field to be SUN, it was a quick dirty and fast way to tell if someone is using a fake version of JAVA.

    You can revert to an older version or wait for a fixed update.

    People using Eclipse are also boned by the same issues.
     
  14. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Minecraft is surprisingly a big cpu/ram hog. I'm not sure about GPU, but I imagine it would help. Perhaps it doesn't support integrated graphics cards.

    ...plus you're pirating it...Why don't you run the free minecraft classic on www.minecraft.net and see if that works. If it does then the Alpha version should work (then you should buy it).
     
  15. Skyline969

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Really? I use Eclipse on a daily basis, and I also have the latest Oracle version of Java... and I haven't had problems. I don't do 3D graphics at all, but I still haven't had troubles with anything I use, including the swing, awt, and io packages. Or am I just not using some that the new Java would find problematic?
     
  16. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    the free version on the site gives me the same error [​IMG]

    so i know it's not my copy
     
  17. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The problem is specific to programs that use the name field.
     
  18. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    So, it's not my graphics card?

    And if it's not. how do i fix it?
     
  19. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nearly everyone gets this error.
    Go check the Minecraft forums.
     
  20. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe you can help.
    And give me the answer.
     

Share This Page