Gaming Minecraft is lagging for some reason

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
It didn't do it until now. The sun is jumping back, blocks only break after a delay etc.
I'm playing on a relatively good gaming laptop, and on average settings. I usually get around 200 fps.
q4Kfy9n.gif
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
What are your specs?
HardInfo (0.5.1) System Report

Processor

Processors
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-5200U CPU @ 2.20GHz2499,00MHz
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-5200U CPU @ 2.20GHz2499,00MHz
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-5200U CPU @ 2.20GHz2499,00MHz
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-5200U CPU @ 2.20GHz2499,00MHz

Memory
Memory
NVIDIA GeForce 940M/PCIe/SSE2
Total Memory 8073044 kB

OS
OS
Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS
What things have you installed?
What do you mean? Programs? Mods?
Have you changed your Minecraft video settings?
I only lowered them to get more fps.
Driver updates?
I'm using the latest proprietary driver.
 
Last edited by smileyhead,

AbyssalMonkey

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
362
Trophies
0
Location
Prox
XP
2,036
Country
Antarctica
definitely server lag.

I would imagine that the mods installed are probably causing tick overload from the local hosted server if you are in singleplayer.

Minecraft has two forms of lag: framelag, which is obvious from f3 diagnostics in top left, and then server lag which becomes more obvious the higher is becomes due to desync on player actions.

Frame lag is cause by any number of things, mainly from gpu rendering not being powerful enough.

Server lag is a hard one to treat because it mainly comes from having too many operations happening between server calculations. This is especially hard on processors because minecraft only runs servers on a single thread, so you seriously need to pump out high clock speed. What happens when your client does something and there is server (tick) lag, is that your client will show things operating normally, but the server is still backed up calculating everything from before, leading to exactly what you see there: a block being mined and then dropping a second later.

Only way to fix your issue is to put less load on the server, either by removing mods, using less machines, or giving it a more powerful (higher clock speed) cpu.

As a side note: it isn't that uncommon for minecraft to eat all the RAM from your memory causing minecraft to chug. If you are using a launcher, check it's settings and look for a way to raise the memory allocated to java. Just remember, minecraft will eat every last bit, so if you give it too much, your OS will chug instead.
 
Last edited by AbyssalMonkey,
  • Like
Reactions: smileyhead

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
definitely server lag.

I would imagine that the mods installed are probably causing tick overload from the local hosted server if you are in singleplayer.

Minecraft has two forms of lag: framelag, which is obvious from f3 diagnostics in top left, and then server lag which becomes more obvious the higher is becomes due to desync on player actions.

Frame lag is cause by any number of things, mainly from gpu rendering not being powerful enough.

Server lag is a hard one to treat because it mainly comes from having too many operations happening between server calculations. This is especially hard on processors because minecraft only runs servers on a single thread, so you seriously need to pump out high clock speed. What happens when your client does something and there is server (tick) lag, is that your client will show things operating normally, but the server is still backed up calculating everything from before, leading to exactly what you see there: a block being mined and then dropping a second later.

Only way to fix your issue is to put less load on the server, either by removing mods, using less machines, or giving it a more powerful (higher clock speed) cpu.

As a side note: it isn't that uncommon for minecraft to eat all the RAM from your memory causing minecraft to chug. If you are using a launcher, check it's settings and look for a way to raise the memory allocated to java. Just remember, minecraft will eat every last bit, so if you give it too much, your OS will chug instead.
Okay, I've uninstalled every mod expect OptiFine (which I had no problems with before), and it still happens.
Could it be a misconfiguration?
 

evandixon

PMD Researcher
Developer
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
0
Website
projectpokemon.org
XP
2,300
Country
United States
Okay, I've uninstalled every mod expect OptiFine (which I had no problems with before), and it still happens.
Could it be a misconfiguration?
Could be anything.

Possible causes:
  • The server machine not having enough resources (RAM, CPU, etc.)
  • The server machine being busy working on something else
  • Too many entities in one place (somehow recently I increased TPS from 5 to 20 by discovering that somehow there were hundreds of villagers crammed into one house. May also be caused by mob spawners spawning too many things in one place.)
  • Tile entities taking too long to update. Things that I've done that have caused this in the past:
    • Massive numbers of hoppers in one area
    • Having a wall of 64 Thermal Expansion Energy Cells all connected to each other.
    • Chaining a bunch of AE ad-hoc networks together
    • Inefficient computercraft programs
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
Could be anything.

Possible causes:
  • The server machine not having enough resources (RAM, CPU, etc.)
  • The server machine being busy working on something else
  • Too many entities in one place (somehow recently I increased TPS from 5 to 20 by discovering that somehow there were hundreds of villagers crammed into one house. May also be caused by mob spawners spawning too many things in one place.)
  • Tile entities taking too long to update. Things that I've done that have caused this in the past:
    • Massive numbers of hoppers in one area
    • Having a wall of 64 Thermal Expansion Energy Cells all connected to each other.
    • Chaining a bunch of AE ad-hoc networks together
    • Inefficient computercraft programs
I'm in the middle of a forest. Could that be the cause?
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
Probably not, but sometimes things happening underground could be. Or maybe several chunks away. Since this is server lag, it could be something another player is doing.
I'm in singleplayer.
That's why it's so weird to me. And it didn't happen before. It started doing it now.
 

evandixon

PMD Researcher
Developer
Joined
May 29, 2009
Messages
1,725
Trophies
0
Website
projectpokemon.org
XP
2,300
Country
United States
I'm in singleplayer.
That's why it's so weird to me. And it didn't happen before. It started doing it now.
Things to check:
  • Ensure Java has enough RAM. When in doubt, give it as much as you can, leaving a few GB for the OS and background processes
  • Ensure Java's running under a GPU (if applicable). Some laptops like mine run some programs with integrated graphics to save battery.
  • Ensure there aren't any background programs hogging your computer's resources.
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
Ensure Java has enough RAM. When in doubt, give it as much as you can, leaving a few GB for the OS and background processes
Didn't work. :(
  • Ensure Java's running under a GPU (if applicable). Some laptops like mine run some programs with integrated graphics to save battery.
It's already running on the non-integrated card.
  • Ensure there aren't any background programs hogging your computer's resources.
Nope.
 

smileyhead

I like cute stuff.
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
4,679
Trophies
3
Age
22
Location
Budakeszi, Hungary
Website
sites.google.com
XP
9,259
Country
Hungary
Put your Fps in the settings to 60, and try that, it should be in video settings
Didn't do a thing.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Have you tried it without OptiFine? If that doesn't work, what version of Forge are you using? You may want to try a different version, for the science of it.
It's worse without OptiFine (it's an optimisation mod after all).
Latest version of Forge.

But personally, I don't think they are the problem, since I've had no problems whatsoever before today.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: your hand maybe? lol