Minecraft Beta is out

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by soulx, Dec 20, 2010.

Dec 20, 2010

Minecraft Beta is out by soulx at 5:43 PM (6,159 Views / 0 Likes) 49 replies

  1. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    [​IMG]

    I just updated the client and the server to Minecraft Beta 1.0

    * Working server-side inventory! Finally! (And as a result of that, a whole pile of bugs and issues got fixed)
    * Made SMP servers save chunks way less often in most cases. Chunks don’t resave if they got saved in the last 30 seconds
    * Moving too far away from a container, or having it blow up, closes the inventory screen
    * Fixed /kill
    * Introduced leaf decay again. It acts differently from before
    * You can now throw eggs
    * On a whim, added super exclusive clan cloaks for Mojang Employees
    * .. and something else, which is even more rare[/p]

    [​IMG] Source

    Time to download it! Not many new features though! I wonder what the "something else" is!
     


  2. purechaos996

    Member purechaos996 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, Notch just tweeted this like 2min ago. You people are crazy fast!!!
     
  3. purplesludge

    Member purplesludge anyone have any ideas for this space

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    wv
    Country:
    United States
    Yep wish there were more features. Atleast I don't have to burn leaves any more.
     
  4. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm trained in the art of posting.
    ---
    Beta
    Time to look for the "something else"!
    ---
    There are descriptions for items that you hover over.
    The meat is called Pork Chops, now.
    ---
    PIG ZOMBIES!
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    Edit: I was wrong. That was there since the Nether update.
     
  5. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh wow! It's so... so... not different!
     
  6. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    I've been slowly getting back into MC after a long while off. In fact, played yesterday (or saturday?) for the first time in months. Now that Beta is out, i'm excited to see the next steps!
     
  7. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a shame my GPU went for a shit the other day. The latest version of my integrated graphics driver is so obsolete it won't even load Minecraft. I just get some kind of OpenGL error. Rats cocks.
     
  8. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    @Depravo: Is it an intel integrated card?

    Wife®'s dell workstation has that. And i get the Java/OpenGL error. I've tried finding fixes, only to find out NOONE with this onboard card can get it to work.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    woot, just bought my account yesterday just in time for beta today [​IMG]
     
  10. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Any recent GPU will be able to run it. Even I am able to, but I've got an integrated 4200 Radeon from AMD/ATI. An 8500 GT works fine too, you just need a GPU/IGP with proper OpenGL support.
     
  11. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @WildWon: Yep, it's an 'Intel 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family' whatever that may be. The drivers were dated 2004 (when I got the computer) so I updated to the latest which were dated 2006. I don't suppose it matters - Minecraft would probably melt it anyway.

    It's about time I got an entirely new computer as this one is six years old and not worth upgrading. I just need to find a job first...
     
  12. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, that's the one!
     
  13. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    waited till almost last min to buy it


    it plays fairly decent on my 4100 in my laptop
    4870 has no problems in my desktop
     
  14. BobTheJoeBob

    Member BobTheJoeBob The most optimistic person on the temp. :)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,691
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    People who buy the beta do get the full game when it's released. It says here.
     
  15. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they miss out on all expansion packs released thereafter however
    they will still receive bug fix/updates
     
  16. DeadLocked

    Member DeadLocked Bi-Winning.

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,368
    Location:
    Britland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wasn't expecting much difference as of today.
    That "Something else"....maybe an npc >.> doubt it.
    Anyways, here to the future!..-updates and expansions!
     
  17. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A lot of shit seemed to be broken, before Beta 1.0_0.1 you couldn't move things to two rows of your inventory from a large chest, and apparently a lot of Mac users are unable to play the game.
    On top of that people are complaining of high resource consumption.
     
  18. soulx
    OP

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada

    Client 1.0_01 is up, fixing a double chest issue and a rare crash on load level bug.

    There’s a serious problem getting the client started for some people (especially Mac OSX?). I’ve also heard about weird item duplication bugs with dropped items, and a severe performance reduction.

    It’s 7:40 PM here, but I will work on these bugs tomorrow.

    I’m also hoping to be able to squeeze in some fun for xmas.. Perhaps a new mob?[/p]
    http://notch.tumblr.com/post/2390438980/mi...gfixes-tomorrow

    New mobs for XMAS, perhaps?
     
  19. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wouldn't count on it, he has too much other stuff to fix and other promises to keep up before he should even think about introducing another mob.
     
  20. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page