Hacking MicroSD that loads Launcher.dat using Zelda OoT3D on Sky3DS

thaikhoa

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2008
Messages
2,227
Trophies
0
XP
2,524
Country
Australia
Hi,

Could you guys here please list your working MicroSD that you've successfully loaded the Launcher.dat 3.1 using Zelda OoT3D on Sky3DS?

I'm with New 3DS - AUS/PAL and I'm using the scene dump with the savedata here http://gbatemp.net/threads/howto-use-oot-exploit-on-sky3ds-non-working-carts.383581/

Toshiba 4GB Class 4 (default New 3DS memory card): Work
Sandisk 8GB Class 2: Black/White screens after pressing A button
Samsung Pro 32GB: Black/White screens after pressing A button
Patriot 16GB Class 10: Black/White screens after pressing A button
Sandisk Extreme Pro 16GB: Black/White screens after pressing A button

The cash is definitely related to microsd card. Someone states that they got it work on Toshiba 64GB class 10 and Kingstone.

Thanks for joining the test.

Confirmed by my own test
WILL WORK
Toshiba 4GB Class 4
Toshiba 32 Class 10 UHS-I
Kingstone 32GB Class 10 UHS-I
Samsung Pro 16GB UHS-I (32GB will not work)
76B08EB3-ADA8-472C-BA52-C3A252502DBEC8FF5CF2-B635-438F-8C4E-E3D2BA2E7BA0.jpg


WILL NOT WORK
Samsung Pro 32GB UHS-I
Sandisk Ultra 16GB UHS-I
Sandisk Extreme Pro 16GB UHS-I
Patriot 16GB Class 10
Sandisk 8GB Class 2
F7562C81-1249-4963-8AF8-8178439868E3F9A34C6F-9F78-45DC-956C-ED6F632BCBF3.jpg


Following Microsds confirmed by other people in this post

WILL WORK
Toshiba 64 Class 10 UHS-I
Sandisk 8GB Class 4
Kingston class4 8GB
Kingston 4 GB microSDHC Class 10
Kingston 16gb Class 4
Sandisk 8gb Class 4

WILL NOT WORK
Generic eBay 8GB: Black/White screens after pressing A button
Sandisk Ultra 64gb Class 10
Sandisk 32GB UHS-I
Kingston 4GB Class 4 - WSoD
SanDisk 16GB Class 8 - WSoD
SanDisk 16GB Class 8 - WSoD
SanDisk 16GB Class 8 - WSoD
Kingston 16GB Class 10- WSoD
SanDisk 32GB Class 4 - WSoD
Sony 32gb Class 10
Sandisk Ultra 64gb Class 10
Toshiba Micro SDXC I 64GB Class 10
Samsung Micro SDXC I Evo 64GB

I've used two versions 4gb kingston and 64gb toshiba and both worked flawlessly without a problem

See the photo below

2ngbwr8.jpg


For those experiencing inconsistent booting issues to the gateway menu, I can confirm that this is definitely sd card related. I originally got the exploit working consistently with a sandisk 8gb sd card. Worked flawlessly. Then I tried an older 2gb kingston card. Exploit never worked and froze every time. Then switched to a 4gb sandisk sd card and the exploit works about half the time.

Thanks.
 

KeyMan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
4
Trophies
0
XP
345
Country
I've got pretty much the same results as you. Only thing that seems to work is the default N3DS card.

Toshiba 4GB Class 4 (default New 3DS memory card): Work
Sandisk 8GB Class 2: Black/White screens after pressing A button
Generic eBay 8GB: Black/White screens after pressing A button
 
  • Like
Reactions: thaikhoa

Datalogger

Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Location
Maui
XP
638
Country
United States
This works in my US N3DSXL on 9.0.0-20

In the N3DSXL = SanDisk 16GB Micro SD HC-1 Class 4 (Bought at Target)
http://www.sandisk.com/products/memory-cards/microsd/class4/?capacity=16GB
microsd-sdsdq-016g.jpg


-and-

In the Sky3DS = Toshiba 4GB Micro SD HC Class 4 (The one that was inside the N3DSXL)
r.jpg


-Also-

In my 3DS, I get a White Screen of Death with any other card in my SKY3DS.
I tried three SanDisks and a Kingston and all White-Screened.
Putting the Toshiba from inside the 3DS into the SKY3DS works every time.
 
  • Like
Reactions: thaikhoa

Datalogger

Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Location
Maui
XP
638
Country
United States
Seems that the problem not the exploit savedata itself but the memory card on Sky3DS.

Once you can get to the Hut, either card can cause a WSoD.

At first, I was getting it because of the card in my 3DS, (I had the 4GB Toshiba in the Sky)
I then bought the 16GB SanDisk above, put it inside the 3DS and it worked.

I wanted a bigger card for the Sky, so I cloned the 4GB to a 16GB SanDisk and... WSoD.
I re-formatted the 16GB SanDisk, re-installed everything and still WSoD.
I tried a few other 16GB cards and they all WSoD.

Then I re-formatted and re-installed everything on the 4GB Toshiba and it worked again.

It's not so bad having just a 4GB in the Sky as all I need it for now is Cubic Ninja for HomeBrew and OoT for the Gateway.
 

Datalogger

Seeking to explain the IOSU for everyone to enjoy
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2009
Messages
415
Trophies
0
Location
Maui
XP
638
Country
United States
I used a Sandisk 8GB Class 4 for Oot savegame exploit and works perfectly.

Hmmm... all of my older SanDisk and the Kingston are Class 8 or Class 10
Both of my currently working cards are Class 4.
Just a coincidence you think?


Edit:
I have a 32GB Class 4 in my PSP.
I'm gonna pull it out, format it and see if it works in both places...
 

qproject

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
240
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
235
Country
Canada
Hmmm... all of my SanDisk and the Kingston are Class 8 or Class 10
Both of my currently working cards are Class 4.
Just a coincidence you think?


Edit:
I have a 32GB Class 4 in my PSP.
I'm gonna pull it out, format it and see if it works in both places...



The N3DS internal mircoSD Toshiba is also a Class 4 and it works as an alternative. Maybe the minium requirement is a Class 4?

I also have a Kingston 16gb Class 4. I could test that out.
 

Nuxx20

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2015
Messages
244
Trophies
0
XP
221
Country
United States
The class 4 theory doesn't hold, at least not for the sky3ds end.
I'm using a Sandisk 32GB Class 10 in my sky3ds and it works flawlessly.
I do have the original 4GB Toshiba Card in my N3DS XL (AUS 9.0E)
I would love to switch between the two as I would prefer a larger emunand and smaller sky3ds as its only use is to boot the exploit, but I'm waiting to see if anyone manages to boot it with a larger class 10 micro sd first (in the n3ds slot)
 

qproject

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
240
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
235
Country
Canada
The class 4 theory doesn't hold, at least not for the sky3ds end.
I'm using a Sandisk 32GB Class 10 in my sky3ds and it works flawlessly.
I do have the original 4GB Toshiba Card in my N3DS XL (AUS 9.0E)
I would love to switch between the two as I would prefer a larger emunand and smaller sky3ds as its only use is to boot the exploit, but I'm waiting to see if anyone manages to boot it with a larger class 10 micro sd first (in the n3ds slot)



Kingston 16gb Class 4 works.
 

Nuxx20

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2015
Messages
244
Trophies
0
XP
221
Country
United States
Kingston 16gb Class 4 works.

Thanks for the input. I'll wait to see if any of my existing sd cards worked for anyone (Sandisk & Kingston 32GB Class 10) before spending money on another card.
BTW, does yours show the GW3D prefix in system menu?
 

qproject

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
240
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
235
Country
Canada
Thanks for the input. I'll wait to see if any of my existing sd cards worked for anyone (Sandisk & Kingston 32GB Class 10) before spending money on another card.
BTW, does yours show the GW3D prefix in system menu?


Yes it shows GW3D. I'm using the stock internal Toshiba 4gb on my N3DS.
 

qproject

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2015
Messages
240
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
235
Country
Canada
Oh I see. I was actually looking to increase the size of the card that's inside the N3DS rather than using the 4GB one.


I also have a Sandisk 64gb class 10 I bought awhile ago for the N3DS but it might not show GW3D. I might try when GW team iron out the bugs first in thier next beta release.

hmm I'll try the exploit on the Sandisk 64gb Class 10 see if thats the case only class 4 is stable to use...
 

Johnny Dunlop

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
124
Country
Canada
So are there currently any cards besides the original N3DS 4GB that work inside the N3DS and show the GW before version number?
 

Nuxx20

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2015
Messages
244
Trophies
0
XP
221
Country
United States
So are there currently any cards besides the original N3DS 4GB that work inside the N3DS and show the GW before version number?

According to the info I've gathered from this thread and a couple other, it looks like only class 4 cards would do the trick (4,8,16 GB)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Psi has a new girlfriend but I have known her for like 28 years
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Is she you?
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Psi just become a sparkling vampire already
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The Catboy it's weird there was always something between us.... But neither of us was single at the same time.... But last night we found out we both are... And hmmm 🥰
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    She has all my weak points smart funny blonde and she lights up the room when she walks in and nothing else exists when she is there
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would eat the corn out of her.... Lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Psi! You're alive!
  • Veho @ Veho:
    ...and you have yet another new
    girlfried :rolleyes:
  • Veho @ Veho:
    MAKE HER SIGH A PRENUP
  • cearp @ cearp:
    PSI <3 🌽
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol Veho I'm down to 3
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Dumping one soon
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My Facebook has like 120 women now or something lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Each one hotter than the last...
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ordered a new SSD
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Your mom's an SSD lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Your mom writes to me fast
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I haven't placed an order with Newegg since like 2016 lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Amazon Is better lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Hard to find a fast 2tb SSD for 130
  • Peretti @ Peretti:
    lately I downloaded super mario galaxy for wii, but in the first phase, right in the first cutscene of the game, the game freezes in that part, with the image appearing but completely frozen. I already had this problem with pikmin 2 but in the end I couldn't fix the problem. Has anyone had this problem, and if so, did you find a solution?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Moms spaghetti
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Peretti, Ask you question in the Wii section of the forum.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: @Peretti, Ask you question in the Wii section of the forum.