micro sd capactiy of R4?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by pikachu945, Jul 10, 2010.

Jul 10, 2010

micro sd capactiy of R4? by pikachu945 at 6:10 PM (1,356 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    I have R4 Original I was wondering if my micro SD 4gb(not sdhc) would work because my 2 gb snapped I found the 4gb in my cellphone I had no idea it was there lol
    anyway any help would be great!




    its a 4GB SDHC the "SDHC" part was wore off the card [​IMG]
     
  2. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2GB, under normal circumstances because the SD specifications state that any 4GB - 32GB card should be SDHC.

    4GB non-SDHC cards are not recommended for anything because they are non-standard, although there's a chance it may work on your R4.
     
  3. pikachu945
    OP

    Member pikachu945 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    683
    Country:
    Canada
    why 4g will not work?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Real R4s cannot use MicroSDHC (SDHC = Secure Digital High Capacity). Most (99%) 4GB cards are SDHC.
    There are few 4GB NonSDHC cards and are often very expensive ($15USD for a 4GB SDHC vs $60USD for a 4GB Non-SDHC)
     
  5. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also remember that a 4GB MicroSDHC gets formatted using FAT32 based on the specifications, a MicroSD should be formatted using FAT16, and a 4GB can't be formatted using FAT16 as the partition limit is 2GB.
     
  6. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I've heard about these non-SDHC 4gb microSDs too, I recall it being on an old R4DS compatibility list. There's no real reason to get one of those, at all.

    But Pikachu945, don't you have an Acekard 2i?
     
  7. alidsl

    Member alidsl I am now a lurker

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,823
    Location:
    Kanto - Pallet Town
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want more than 2gig it would be cheaper to buy another card rather than buy a 4gb non-SDHC
     
  8. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He already has one, as in the first post he found it in his cellphone. It's also a SDHC, just that the SDHC logo has worn off.
     
  9. riverchen

    Member riverchen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Country:
    United States
    SDHC is usually 4-32 gigs

    Origianal r4 will NOT SUPPORT SDHC.
    If it's not SDHC r4 will most likely accept it
     

Share This Page