Metroid Prime Trilogy

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by mahern4, Aug 26, 2009.

Aug 26, 2009

Metroid Prime Trilogy by mahern4 at 6:02 PM (106,439 Views / 0 Likes) 410 replies

  1. mahern4
    OP

    Newcomer mahern4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone able to get this game to load off an USB drive? I'm able to get through the menu but when I try to start a game it resets the system. Is there a fix??

    Thanks!!


    UPDATE -fixed
    Wow, many pages and the answer is in the first few posts. [​IMG]

    Just pick 'alt dol from disk' in gx or cfg loader. Below it, there will be four alt dols: one for the menu and three others for the games(in Cfg a menu pops up when you load the game). Not using any alt dol should lead you to the menu.

    I believe Configurable USB loader works a little better. GX has issues saving the load settings so if you get a black screen use Cfg loader.

    You need to make a save file for one of the games before you play it...do this through the menu.

    MP3 will not work if you have Cios14 installed. Use a previous release.

    Thats it, no weird extraction or anything like that. The alt dols are within the iso file you put on the USB device.. no disk or additional files are physically/additionally needed.
    Also, make sure you have the right ISO file. It needs to be 'unscrubbed' and the final size for me was 7.91 gigs. Even with the files in rar format, the size is still over 7gigs.

    Update 2
    Loading the game as mentioned above will now be displayed in 480p. To get it to run in 480p do this:

    From Rypaul-
    If you are using the alt dol method then use Neogamma and set the region
    options like this
    Force video: 480p
    Patch video: All

    I can actually notice a pretty big difference in the gameplay. I don't think any other USB loader is able to do this. Also, it's actually 'Force video: NTSC480p'....to be exact.

    Neogamma thread is here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=158884

    Thanks Rypaul for this info and Wiipower for loader.


    Issue(s)- The only problem I ran into is when you choose a game it automatically chooses 'veteran' difficulty and not 'normal'. I played about an hour of the first game before I realized this...the game's not really that hard. And shit, it's six years old...challenge yourself. [​IMG]

    You can use only one save profile.
    On the upside to this, you don't have to go through the menu and all the other BS to get to the game. Once you load the game through USB loader it takes you straight to last save point. [​IMG]




    Thanks!!! Jabmaster2 and Skater4599 and Rypaul and Wiipower
     


  2. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    Use alt dol from
    disk.
     
  3. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yes as previous poster replied use an alt-dol method from disc, however i believe there is a dol for each game MP1, MP2 and MP3. so you have to alt-load that dol based on what game your goin to be loading from the menu. Which will require you to rename each of those dols accordingly based on which game your going to play (This is what i gather from other posts/topics, there doesnt seem to be solid info anywhere atm, but once i get my hands on this i will do some extensive testing and reprt findings asap)

    Somone please correct me if i am wrong, for all our sakes ^^ [​IMG]
     
  4. sess

    Member sess GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Location:
    Sao Paulo
    Country:
    Brazil
    You're correct.

    Just tried MP3:C and it doesn't work :/, even with a disc on. Same goes for Multiplayer (didn't find any dol for it though).
     
  5. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I've asked in another thread but this one seems more appropriate for these questions.

    Has anyone burned this game to a dual layer disc and got it working, what layer break did you use?

    Has anyone tried Hermes IOS 222 37 merge 36 and used the block IOS reload option in USB loader GX?
     
  6. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    You just need a valid savegame (start the game from Disc) before alt-dol works
     
  7. mahern4
    OP

    Newcomer mahern4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone know where to get the alt dol's other than from the disk?
     
  8. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think there is any other place, unless somone who has pulled them off the disc already is willing to share them, but they are illegal and are nintendo code so don't ask for links here.
     
  9. welshmatt

    Newcomer welshmatt Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would like to know this too.
     
  10. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    USB loader loader alt dol from disk dosent actually need the disk. It means it looks through the games dols in the program and u just select which dol to use. So u don't have to use wiiscrubber to get the dol. Also yeah I do think like someone said u need a game save first do that kinda sucks.
     
  11. AdamBrunt

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    that's not too bad. IIRC you had to play WSR at least once of a DVD before USB Loaders would recognise it.

    So does the game make 1 save game file for all 3 games or 1 each ? ie do I just need to play any of them once or all of them once before alt dol on Loader GX will work ?
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Lol, you did not have to. And i think this game is similar, most likely you only need to run the game once normally and let it create a savegame. But do you expect that this is tried from somebody who wants to download the .dol used for "alternative .dol loading from disc"?
     
  13. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine burned on dual layer. Could't tell you what the layer break was, as I didn't set it myself. The .iso came with a .dvd that told Imgburn where to put the break.
     
  14. Skater4599

    Member Skater4599 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    940
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your reply, Is there any chance you could check in imgburn and check your setting for burning this, would be nice to avoid wasting DL expensive coasters if possible ^^

    Edit: DarkCamui has an even better idea, can you upload the .dvd file please, id love to have it also thanks
     
  15. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    Think you can PM me the .dvd file for the layerbreak? Since it's a very small file it should be no problems.

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  16. hundshamer

    Member hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Or he could open the .DVD file with notepad and post the layer break for everyone.
     
  17. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I don't think the .dvd file would be copyrighted. It's completely generated by the imgburn?
     
  18. Xras

    Member Xras GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I think since IMGburn is a free program, that doesn't apply here?
     
  19. DarkCamui

    Member DarkCamui GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh okey then well then just post the layer break here.
     
  20. AdamBrunt

    Member AdamBrunt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    688
    Country:
    Could have sworn that, when the game first came out, you could only see the 'automatic' Motion+ plus video if you loaded the game off disc ?
     

Share This Page