Metal Gear Solid 2 won't work on my laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by adamshinoda, Nov 4, 2011.

Nov 4, 2011
  1. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    here's my specs:


    Intel core i3 -2330 Processor ( 2.2GHz, Dual Core, 4Thread, 3M cache )
    4GB DDR3 -1066
    500G HDD
    VGA AMD Radeon(TM) HD 6470M - 1 GB (actually my laptop has 2 VGAs, the other is an Intel HD 3000)

    I installed MGS 2 and click play, but a black screen appeared, even worse there's no sound at all. At first I thought I was using the Intel vga mode, so I set the Radeon vga mode, at high performance. Nothing changed.
    Anyone knows what the problem is? :( I guess my VGA does not support the game.
     
  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well your specs are way more than enough to handle the game.
    Are you on windows 7 or vista? If you are then the game doesn't normally work on them . Try following the guide here on how to make it work .
     
  3. I2aven's_Sag

    Member I2aven's_Sag GBATemp Otaku

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    726
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    It's a pretty old game, have you tried going into properties and ticking all the compatibility settings?
     
  4. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Maybe the problem is that I'm using Win 7. I've tried changing the compability settings but it was useless. This is my third attempt of installing MGS2 on a third laptop and it still doesnt work like the previous ones.
     
  5. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Followed the guide I gave you about making it work on win 7?
     
  6. kupo3000

    Member kupo3000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Try this just in case.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  7. adamshinoda
    OP

    Member adamshinoda GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    Ha Noi
    Country:
    Vietnam
    I watched the video, thanks a lot. I'll try it tomorrow :D
     

Share This Page