Mega Man X Collection: Is the GameCube Version Better Than the PS2 Version?

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by xwatchmanx, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    So I've been looking for Mega Man X Collection for quite a while, and finally found and bought the PS2 version on GameStop. I was going to get the GameCube version initially, but the PS2 controller is infinitely superior for those kind of games (featuring a much better dpad and digital triggers), plus the GameCube version is much more expensive ($50 is the cheapest I can find it online).

    Anyway, I had never played the PS2 phat I got this summer until I bought this game. Much to my dismay, while GameCube games always looked pretty decent on my 37 inch HD, PS2 games, or at least THIS PS2 game, just looks abysmal. It's blurry as heck, the colors are dark and washed out, and the sound quality on the first two games in particular sounds very poor.

    So here's my question: Is the GameCube version any better, or was this just a piss-poor port all around, regardless of the version? I understand that the GameCube is capable of a higher resolution, but I have no idea if the GameCube version of Mega Man X Collection takes advantage of that. Also, what about the sound quality? Is that any better?

    Any answers are appreciated. I really don't WANT to cough up $50+ for the GameCube version of Mega Man X Collection (and some more for a GCN/SNES controller adapter), but if doing so will get me noticeably higher quality ports of the Mega Man X games, I'll very willingly do it.
     


  2. Felipe_9595

    Member Felipe_9595 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Chile
    You could use DIos Mios/ a back up before buying it. WHen i played it on my CRT it looked just like in my play 1, and sound quality was fine.
     
  3. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I'm playing on an HD, not a CRT, though.
     
  4. Felipe_9595

    Member Felipe_9595 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Chile
    HMmm yes, true, it might look different. As i said, you could test it first, then buy it (the compressed iso is like 600 Mb), i have done that for some games i did want (Like MGS Twin Snakes)
     
  5. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Eh, maybe. Idk. I kind of gave up pirating a little while ago, and unmodded my Wii and all that, to avoid temptation. :P
     
    Lanlan likes this.
  6. Felipe_9595

    Member Felipe_9595 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Chile
    Wrong topic, srry.
     
  7. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    The disk or your PS2 is fucked. Both versions are identical AFAIR, and neither looks bad. I can't remember exactly but they're either as good looking as the original, or a bit better. Most likely better...
    Either way, bot the picture and the sound should be good quality. Something is up with your setup.
     
  8. Eerpow

    Member Eerpow *swoosh*

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    Even if neither d-pad is that good I still prefer the GC controller D-pad since the directions aren't separated. The GC version is identical to the PS version.
     
  9. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Did you play it on an older CRT, or an HD TV?

    Also, any ideas what I could check to see what's wrong? I'm connected with the standard composite cable, nothing fancy. The disc is literally in like-new condition (the guys and gamestop and I all noticed that when they retrieved the disc for me), so I don't think it's the disc. Maybe I'll grab another PS2 game soon and see if it has the same problem.
    The directions aren't separated on the PS2 controller. Parts of the dpad are beneath a "frame" on the controller, but it's still all one piece and feels like one piece.
     
  10. Eerpow

    Member Eerpow *swoosh*

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Location:
    ERROR!
    Country:
    Sweden
    I know, it just feels wrong and diagonals are just..., luckily not many PS2 or GC games used the D-pad anyway. Ugh now I'm remembering playing SOTN on the PSX...
    Tried a vita d-pad, so much nicer without the separation haha.
     
  11. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,374
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I should note that most LCD HDTVs don't display this game properly due to the 240p resolution.
     
  12. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info. Would this affect sound quality as well? I actually have no idea what the specs of my TV are... it came with the apartment. All I know is that it's a roughly 37 inch Sansui with 1080p capability.
     
  13. NightsOwl

    Member NightsOwl Pays For Avatar Art (For some reason)

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Well, actually as far as I know. The only difference is the gamecube version cut the Japanese voices from X6s Cut-scenes. I may be wrong though. But I'm 90% Sure.
     
  14. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,374
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    No, sound is unaffected.
     
  15. taydor_b

    Newcomer taydor_b Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    I think this may be your problem. Get yourself a cheap set of component cables from Amazon (like these) and your games will look better than if you were playing them on a CRT. HD TVs have trouble downscaling to 480p, so just replace your composite cables with components and you should be all set. I have the cables linked previously, and they work great besides the snug fit in the back of the PS2, so there you shouldn't have to worry about the quality.
     
  16. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, thanks. That's weird, because the first thing I was gonna do was get component cables, but a GameStop employee told me the PS2 wasn't 480p capable, so no component cables. Guess he was wrong.
     
  17. taydor_b

    Newcomer taydor_b Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, he is definitely wrong. I think early PS2 games only ran in 480i, but the majority run in 480p. Gran Turismo 4 can even run in 1080i, I believe.
     
    Lanlan likes this.
  18. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Well according to this list, Mega Man X Collection doesn't have 480p support. So I don't think this will fix my issue. :(
     
  19. taydor_b

    Newcomer taydor_b Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, that's odd. Romance of the Three Kingdoms XI isn't on that list and it looks great on my TV. However, I found another forum talking about the same issue, and they stated that Capcom didn't change the resolution from 240p so if you're paying on an HDTV, then if won't display at all. Others said they had no problem. I would give it a try though. It's only $5 and you can use it for other PS2 you may want to play.
     
  20. xwatchmanx
    OP

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Well I've been meaning to grab a CRT for my old systems, anyway. So we'll see how that goes.
     

Share This Page