Maybe getting a PSP

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by CookiesMilk, Aug 21, 2010.

Aug 21, 2010

Maybe getting a PSP by CookiesMilk at 3:41 PM (1,479 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. CookiesMilk
    OP

    Member CookiesMilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I might be getting a new PSP and I am COMPLETELY new to it. Which model should I get? 1000? 2000? 3000? Please give me a reason on what model should I get... How to crack it so I can play backups etc? Thanks!
     
  2. DarkStriker

    Member DarkStriker GBAtemp's Kpop lover!

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    NIKU!
    Country:
    Norway
    Should be in the PsP section shouldn't it?

    Oh well. I say get Phat for easy hacking. As phat psp are 100% hackable. The 3000 is something you just ignore. Useless. If you can get a PSP 2000 that is on or under firmware 5.03 then it should also be easy to hack.
     
  3. .psyched

    Member .psyched GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Country:
    France
    Well, the reason you should get a psp2000 is because it's softmoddable. While the psp1000 will look big, the 3000 won't be hackable. So yeah.
    Don't EVER, get a 3000 like me T____T
     
  4. CookiesMilk
    OP

    Member CookiesMilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Malaysia
    1000. 2000 and 3000 generally have what difference?
     
  5. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    About one thousand
     
  6. CookiesMilk
    OP

    Member CookiesMilk GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Malaysia
    The PSP model 1000, 2000 and 3000 have what difference?
     
  7. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    1000: big, has an infra-red(so it can be turned into a universal remote for your TV with homebrew) 32MB RAM, can always be hacked.
    2000: half the thickness of 1000, no longer has infrared but TV-out and 64MB RAM instead(increases umd loading, allows for howebrew to enable a form of multi-tasking, and improves emulator performance), old ones can be hacked freely, newer models below or on 5.03OFW can only be modded temporarily with a 5.03CFW(mod is undone upon power-off but standby has almost no power drain)
    3000: improved screen, better TV-out, relabeled home button, can only be temporarily modded on CFW 5.03 and below.

    my advice, get an old 2000 you know came originally with a FW below 4.00, or get a 1000.
     
  8. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your interested in emulators dont get the 1000 because the d-pad is possibly the worst d-pad in history, while on the other hand the 2000 has a really good d-pad.
     
  9. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    The D-Pad? I have no problems with the Dpad especially when I play fighting games like Tekken.
     
  10. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    Man. I bought PSP this year and is the WORST console I bought in my life. I only use emulators. The games are so boring (except great games by Capcom, Konami of Square-Enix).

    I will sell this piece of shit.
     
  11. RyuKisargi

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    If you get a 2000 used from Gamestop, it's usually going to be 6.20 OFW, I know all the ones at mine were.

    I updated to 6.31, and it was still hackable.
     
  12. MLRX

    Member MLRX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    depending on what mobo you have then yea.. no durr
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If the firmware is above 5.03, you will need a pandora battery.
     
  14. RyuKisargi

    Member RyuKisargi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    United States
    Pandoras are made either by hardmodding it with a pencil and some cutting tools, or by softmodding it with VSH Menu. The latter requires an already-modded PSP.
     
  15. Raiser

    Member Raiser I am mad scientist.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,565
    Country:
    Canada
    What does this have to do with the topic again?

    On topic thedicemaster's post-
    http://gbatemp.net/t249438-maybe-getting-a...p;#entry3060440

    If you're not sure what FW your 2000 will come with, it's better to go with the 1000 (Phat).
     
  16. issy12

    Member issy12 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    UK Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm sorry if this might sound a bit off topic, but to softmod do you just press Make Pandora Battery and then to get it back to normal press Make Normal Battery? Might sound a bit of a no sh*t but it seems a bit too easy [​IMG]
     
  17. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    He says "Maybe getting a PSP" no "I get PSP".
     
  18. Goli

    Member Goli RPG

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    Chile
    Fixed.
    I think Raiser means that you just gave your opinion on the handheld and not an answer to what he asked.

    OT: I suggest you get a PSP 2000, the first batch is fully hackable, all you need is a memory stick and a USB cable, install and then install CFW.
     

Share This Page