Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Winter Games

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by staticfritz, Jan 1, 2010.

Jan 1, 2010
  1. staticfritz
    OP

    Member staticfritz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    When you try to take the cannon from Cubynthe to World 5, it still freezes. Other cards have the same issue (like the DSST) but it shouldn't be listed as a working rom when it doesn't work all the way.

    Any way the CycloDS team can fix this? Anyone get this to work with any other methods?
     
  2. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Where is it listed as working with Cyclo?
    And anyway, I think pretty much every cart fixed it. Are you sure DSTT didn't?
     
  3. staticfritz
    OP

    Member staticfritz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually, from reading around, the only card that plays the game past the transition from world 4 to 5 seems to be Acekard.

    If you look at the changes posted for the update for beta 4 it cites game compatibility with both the US and EU versions of the game (4262, 4323). Since the freeze occurs on both dumps of the rom, it seems that this is a secondary AP not noticeable until much later in the game.
     
  4. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    What the hell, is that so difficult to fix this game?

    Anyway, yeah, it seems it was reported as working in a beta, but either it broke in a later beta or it wasn't really fixed.
     
  5. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    DSTT seems to have both EU and US versions fixed, at least according to these change logs:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=195808

    Probably the Japanese version too if that's what Marion & Sonic at Vancouver Olympic Games is.
     
  6. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this game has compatibility issues http://cyclods.ject.pro/

    i've never read anywhere that was working on the cyclods
     
  7. staticfritz
    OP

    Member staticfritz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey Jackthelad, thanks for pointing out the compatibility site. If you read the release notes for beta3, it mentions that the US and EU versions were fixed, but the microsite acknowledges that it doesn't work past Cubyrinth. Too bad, cause I really like playing this game.
     
  8. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    It will be hopefully fixed in the next update, since according to TC they will now work on game fixes after they've finished with Stealth Mode.
     
  9. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i haven't read the release notes for beta3, seems kinda odd to mention that the game was fixed when obviously it hadn't, guess they will come up with a fix for it soon though
     
  10. staticfritz
    OP

    Member staticfritz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    Yay! With the latest 7 release, it finally works! Thanks CycloDS team!
     
  11. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Glad to hear that this game is finally completely fixed.
    And just a head's up, the 1.56 Final firmware is out, so you might want to considering updating even though beta 7 fixed the problem for you.
     
  12. staticfritz
    OP

    Member staticfritz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    Canada
    I thought the 1.56 final is the same as Beta 7. Oh well, I'm using the final.
     
  13. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope...Beta 7 is the 7th beta, while 1.56 final is the...final for 1.56...
     

Share This Page