Mario Kart problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gdownie, Jan 3, 2009.

Jan 3, 2009

Mario Kart problem by gdownie at 9:21 PM (1,073 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. gdownie
    OP

    Newcomer gdownie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I've searched all over these forums, but I've been unable to find a fix.

    I've downgraded my Wii to 3.2u, installed Starfall, and installed the rev 7 cIOS and the gamma launcher using EmperorOfCanada's guide. All backups I've tried work fine except Mario Kart. I've tried multiple burns at multiple speeds, but it still refuses to work. It gets to the wiimote safety screen, and then goes to a black screen saying "Unable to read the disc. Please read the manual" or something similar. What baffles me is that every other backup works fine. I was able to play one race in Mario Kart once, and then after racing it sent me back to the "Unable to read disc" screen. Since then, it only shows the black disc error screen. I had softmodded it before following EmperorOfCanada's guide, but it seemed like the downgrade to 3.2u and the upgrade to gamma processes worked fine, with no errors. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Any idea what's wrong?
     
  2. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    did you install the cios with anything in the usb slots i.e wiimote charger
     
  3. gdownie
    OP

    Newcomer gdownie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    No. There was nothing connected to the Wii except the power adapter, the TV-out, and the sensor bar.
     
  4. Nelson9937955

    Newcomer Nelson9937955 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I would get a new iso
     
  5. Donders

    Newcomer Donders Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Use Gamma loader.
    I've experienced that most backup games work normally with starfall, homebrew and modded wii, but others still don't work, I use GAMMA loader for those.

    you can find GAMMA loader in downloads on the main site.
     
  6. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    this may seem harsh but it worked for me when i had the same error after downgrading from 3.4 (COD5 worked for months then i downgraded from 3.4 to 3.2 cuz i stupidly upped to 3.4, then i started getting same errors as you)
    anyway i deleted my cios(ios249 with any title deleter), backed up my miis with mii extractor and used waninkokos menu loader to back up my save files(even uncopyable ones) then formated my system then reinstalled cios and gamma and all has been peachy ever eversince
     
  7. gdownie
    OP

    Newcomer gdownie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Yikes! That does sound harsh. I've tried the Gamma loader as well as Softchip. Neither work. I have tried other isos to make sure that it wasn't my backup that was corrupt. None of them work.
     
  8. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
  9. gdownie
    OP

    Newcomer gdownie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I believe they are Ritek. The weird thing is that all other backups tested work without any problems whatsoever. It's only Mario Kart that gives me grief. This makes me think that the media is not the problem. Still, if I can find another brand lying around here, I'll give it a go.
     

Share This Page