Mario Kart Channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ether2802, Nov 25, 2008.

Nov 25, 2008

Mario Kart Channel by ether2802 at 7:19 PM (2,625 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. ether2802
    OP

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I managed to extract to Mario Kart Channel.wad from the .iso, I installed it (with the proper fallback so I could delete it if something went wrong), and I didn't know you still need the Disc to make the channel work, given to my lack of ModChip (or in the correct way, the Original copy), untill cSM is released, there is no way for me to use it, such a waste of time just for trying to be an apporting member of this community, i was fun tho...!!! [​IMG]
     


  2. Luigi728

    Member Luigi728 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't really understand it...
    You've installed the Mario Kart Channel as a wad, but it doesn't work?
     
  3. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It doesnt work because he doesnt have the Mario Kart Wii disk, so the channel wont work?
     
  4. Luigi728

    Member Luigi728 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What if you have Mario Kart for the Backuploader (gamma), and you will instal the mario kart channel through a .wad, will it work then?
     
  5. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably not. But that is just a guess [​IMG]
     
  6. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Mario Kart is good enough to buy!
     
  7. Luigi728

    Member Luigi728 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, I can't try it, so I won't find out either^^
    I can't find the .wad on the internet, and my pc won't read the DVD with Mario Kart on it...(Didn't burn it myself)
     
  8. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well if your Wii cant read this disc it wont matter what channel you launch it with [​IMG]
     
  9. Luigi728

    Member Luigi728 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ow, my Wii can read it! But my PC won't so I can't rip the Mario Kart Channel out of so I can let it burn in Hell....
    Ow sorry, I slipped away.
    It plays well, and you don't need the disk to use the Channel, I know that.
     
  10. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh sorry I misunderstood you there... WHy dont you you just run the game and install the channel that way, if you want it? =p
     
  11. ether2802
    OP

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I extracted the .wad from the .iso image in my HDD, not directly from the DVD, with the Gamma loader is not possible to install the channel thru the disc, and if you install the channel, when you go to a race, it ask you for the Game Disc, the DVD with the game can be ripped with ImgBurn, and the channel does not require the disc, the races does...!!! [​IMG]
     
  12. thewiiman

    Newcomer thewiiman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    So are you trying to run the game from a channel without requiring the disk at all?
     
  13. RadioShadow

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All the stuff that can be done in the Channel can be done on the actually Game. It's not worth any hassle in using.
     
  14. ether2802
    OP

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    No, I tough that was what happened, but when I installed I realize that the Game Disc is still needed..... [​IMG]
     
  15. ether2802
    OP

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
     
  16. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I dont see the reason for the channel either. Whether you own the retail version or not.
     
  17. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well the channel lets you recieve online competition messages on your wii's message board.
    Or can the game do that too without the channel?
     
  18. eldi

    Newcomer eldi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The channel shows you when there is a new comp without having to go to the wii message board with a icon in the channel. It will also inform you if you receive a ghost from a friend without having to go into the channel or message board - you get the same 'mail' style icon in the channel on the system menu, so i have the channel installed and i can see at a glance if a friend has beat one of my ghosts or there is an active competition
     
  19. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The channel is also intergrated into the game itself, so there is no other need for it then what eldi said.
     
  20. eldi

    Newcomer eldi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also the channel does not need the disc as such, you can check out time trail friend and world rankings, for example, without the disc in the drive but if you wanted to do a time trial then you would need the disc in the machine
     

Share This Page