MAJOR problem with R4DS!!!!!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by nezkeys79, Mar 16, 2009.

Mar 16, 2009

MAJOR problem with R4DS!!!!! by nezkeys79 at 2:02 PM (3,678 Views / 0 Likes) 38 replies

  1. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I have been struggling to get past this anti-piracy thing for weeks now and in the process I decided to delete everything and start over in case I had files in places they shouldnt be etc.

    But now wherever I put the new 1.18 firmware I just keep getting the same message when trying to load up my R4 ... "could not find "DS_MENU.DAT"

    I've placed that and everything else in the 1.18 folder in several places on my R4 so tried about 5 different combinations and I still keep getting the same message.

    At present I would really like to just play my existing roms and probably buy games from now!
     


  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    did you install the RIGHT R4 FW for your card
    did you but the file fw on the ROOT of the card (NOT in a folder)
     
  3. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Since its been over a year since I bought my R4 from amazon I forgot where exactly to place the firmware on my R4.

    Anyway these are the current files on my R4....

    USRCHEAT.DAT
    readme (SNEMULDS)
    .nds and .sav files

    I have the 1.18 firmware still on this computer so someone plase tell me where to place the files bcause my R4 disc and instructions are at home

    Hope this helps, someone please help me asap!
     
  4. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Holy shit! That's never going to work. The files on the root of your R4 should be -

    _system_ (folder)
    moonshl (folder)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    _DS_MSHL.NDS

    ...and then all your .nds and .sav files.
     
  5. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    wellthe folder says english so yeah I presume iths the right one cause I live in England lol.

    And yeah here are the combinations I have done.....

    1. extract the whole "english v 1.18" folder (4 files) to "removable disk"
    2. extract just ds_menu.dat to "removable disk", "system", "moonshell"
    3. other combinations that dont work
     
  6. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    okay since all 4 of those files are in the "English v 1.18" your saying extract th whole folder straight to "removable disk"

    I assure you I still get the message "could not find DS_MENU.DAT"
     
  7. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    open the "English v 1.18" folder
    and you should see

    _system_ (folder)
    moonshl (folder)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    _DS_MSHL.NDS

    copy

    _system_ (folder)
    moonshl (folder)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    _DS_MSHL.NDS

    to the root of the SDcard
     
  8. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. paul3100

    Member paul3100 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So yes when you have downloaded the files and unzipped them you should get an eng folder?!?!

    So inside of the eng folder you want on the root of your folder as said above, you purchased over a year ago which means its probably genuine but check the forum to be sure!

    A big tip though would be to purchase a new card as the R4 is old/out of date & a joke to most these days!

    regards, paul
     
  10. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i just downloaded a .18 from r4dscart.com

    and etracted all 4 files to "removable disk"

    still get the message.
     
  11. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive never had any problem with the R4 since I got it apart from trying to get the games with anti-piracy to work. Ive played over 50 roms on it before then.

    Can you send a link to another english 1.18 and i'll try once more. Otherwise tell me a decent new flashcard to get and since Im buying I may as well get one with gba support and supports YSMENU

    Posts merged

    and why would i reformat my SD card when I have around 10 unfinished games , and the other 10 I dont wanna lose data
     
  12. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Back up any files you want to keep, obviously. And if you want a flashcart with GBA support it'll have to be a slot-2 device.
     
  13. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but I was playing my roms yesterday night and have been all week so your saying it got corrupt when i deleted the files?
     
  14. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay I just looked in "my computer>removable disk"

    There is a folder there that says English, and when I click on it there are the 4 files inside. Why am I still getting this message? Ive been sat in an internet cafe now for over an hour trying to get this to work
     
  15. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 'English' folder should not be on your SD card. The contents of that folder should be placed directly onto the root of the SD card but not the folder itself.
     
  16. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What do you mean by "root"?

    Sorry for the misunderstanding but I basically did this....

    Opened up the english folder and highlighted the 4 files, them extracted them to "removable disk". Ive even extracted them 1 by 1 to the "removable disk"

    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  17. chamucost20

    Newcomer chamucost20 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    México
    Country:
    Mexico
    Do as Paul says, reformat your microSD card, but before you do that copy the files you need to backup to your hard drive, format the card and extract:
    _system_ (folder)
    moonshl (folder)
    _DS_MENU.DAT
    _DS_MSHL.NDS


    DIRECTLY into the microSD. As far as I know r4ds.cn is the only official site of the genuine R4, so try downloading your firmware from there. Once you've copied the firmware over, first test it to see if it worked, and if it did, just copy back your ROMs, saves and files back to your microSD.
     
  18. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ROOT DIRECTORY

    In other words, the _DS_MENU.DAT file etc should be placed straight onto the SD, NOT inside a folder on the SD.
     
  19. nezkeys79
    OP

    Newcomer nezkeys79 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    okay I figured it out. I neede to copy th files back into the root. The extract option was automatically placing the english folder on the root.

    Okay so now which method should I use to get dragon quest 5 and chrono trigger to work?

    Clean rom + cheat file ?
    Patching with arm7.bin ?

    Posts merged

    do I need to get rid of the usrcheat.dat file already on my card bfore i do anything?
     
  20. chamucost20

    Newcomer chamucost20 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    México
    Country:
    Mexico
    I would try with Clean ROM + Cheat first (as it is the easiest method)

    Just my two cents [​IMG]
     

Share This Page