Luma payload issue

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Rainyks, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    Hi, forgive me if it's a wrong place to ask this. I'm trying to install cfw using 3ds.guide, but I got stuck at section IV. Firstly, luma/payloads/start_Hourglass9.bin and my backup in files9 folder with all of the required files looks fine. I did everything as it wroten on the guide. The problem is, I can configure and save luma but whenever I try to boot hourglass9 to restore my system backup it cannot boot and leaves me with that "Failed to mount CTRNAND" error. I have an EUR N3DS that used to be on 11.2 version. I did nand backup, and used NAND1 name for it. However, the fact that I cannot boot into hourglass9 payload makes me think it isn't the case here. Could someone help me? Thanks
     
  2. Distrance

    Distrance 矢澤にこ

    Member
    1,144
    426
    Nov 23, 2008
    Finland
    If you can boot into Luma, you have A9LH. Which means you can boot Hourglass. Are you actually holding start while powering on the device? This should boot you into H9 .. If you are, then try renaming the start_Hourglass9.bin to something else, such as y_Hourglass9.bin and try holding Y while powering on the device.
     
  3. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,178
    674
    May 16, 2011
    United States
    Try renaming it to up_Hourglass9.bin and holding Up on the d-pad while booting.
     
  4. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    It didn't work :/ It just does not recognize the payload and makes me return to the same error. I also tried to download it again twice, in case of a corrupt download. But it didn't solve anything.
     
  5. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    11,024
    5,910
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Show us a screenshot of your SD card. You probably have something named incorrectly.
     
  6. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    I don't think it'll turn out as a rename problem, but here it is. Maybe someone can point out a mistake.

    Also, could it be the A9LH installation gone wrong at some point? I had experienced a weird thing in its process, but managed to fix it. The browser freeze when I touch to url button. So, after my third try I searched for the url on google instead. But the rest went smootly until this hourglass9 part.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    11,024
    5,910
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    The payload is meant to be in the payloads folder! Lol. That's why it's not working.
     
  8. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    Umm... It actually is in the folder, as my first message stated. My bad, I tried to show it in picture by cropping the image and putting it next to the folder but it wasn't obvious enough I guess.
     
    Last edited by Rainyks, Feb 2, 2017
  9. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    11,024
    5,910
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Oh. Well in that case the only idea I have left is that your SD card is broken. Not likely but worth a shot. Test it with H2testw.
     
  10. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    SD card is brand new, and properly formated. And by new, I really meant it. I've bought it last week, a 32gb sandisk sd card. Thank you for replying and trying to help anyway.
     
  11. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive

    Member
    11,024
    5,910
    Nov 23, 2014
    Australia
    Canberra, Australia
    Where did you buy it from? If not from an established physical shop then you should test it anyway. Otherwise you'd have to give up as it's the last idea.
     
  12. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    It's from a well known electronic market in my country. I downloaded 4gb game data in total, used homebrew and gba emulator, done the guide's steps till then, and it never caused any trouble. But you are right, I'll try it once I get some rest. It's like having a bricked console without brick, idk what's wrong and seems like there's no chance for turning back. I really hope someone here can show me a way out of this situation without losing my account and any of the data.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  13. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,178
    674
    May 16, 2011
    United States
    Temporarily remove the current arm9loaderhax.bin from your SD card. Copy the Hourglass9.bin file to the root of your SD card and rename it arm9loaderhax_si.bin. This should result in Hourglass9 immediately being loaded when the console is turned on.
     
    Zidapi and Quantumcat like this.
  14. Rainyks
    OP

    Rainyks Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Dec 14, 2016
    Greece
    It worked! Thank you so much. Btw, you mean I should put back the file after doing restore, by "temporary", right?
     
  15. squall14716

    squall14716 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,178
    674
    May 16, 2011
    United States
    Yes, otherwise your console will always just boot into Hourglass9. :)